We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and inviting with great hospitality and beautiful surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Middletown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Peaceful and inviting with great hospitality and beautiful surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Highly recommend this gem hidden away just minutes from the casino, lakes to the north and Napa Valley to the south. Greta made us feel like old friends and her garden and cottages are designed to enjoy the natural beauty she has created there. She gives a great massage and makes very fine breakfasts, indeed. Go!

Room Tip: Call Greta at the number on her home page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poconos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
It's belated, but I wanted to thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to me! When you rebook here at the oasis, remind me to get a 10% discount on your reservation. Happy Holidays! Greta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Greta's B&B is a very peaceful place, with lots of garden around the 3-4 cottages. The cottage we stayed in was a large bedroom with a large bathroom and a nice patio overlooking the garden. The supermarket in the next town is well-equipped so eating on the patio is a lot of fun in the evening. The Hidden Valley Lake Golf Course is close by and worth playing. Greta is a wonderful person and the breakfast is excellent. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
It's belated, but I wanted to thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to me! When you rebook here at the oasis, remind me to get a 10% discount on your reservation. Happy Holidays! Greta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We came to relax, explore Napa and get a breath of fresh air. BGO was exactly what we needed, and Greta is absolutely wonderful. After we left we kept wishing she could make us breakfast every morning. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsfCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
It's been a long while since you wrote a great review on Trip Advisor, but I wanted to thank you as this is a gift that keeps on giving. It means a lot to me! When you rebook here at the oasis, remind me to get a 10% discount on your reservation. Happy Holidays! Greta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

The room was very charming with a gas fireplace, mini refrigerator and a beautiful wild flower arrangement. The cottage is separated from the main house with It's own little patio. We had 3 nights of relaxation and 3 mornings of great eats. 15 - 20 mins away from Calistoga at half the price! If you are looking for a room in the Wine Country don't pass up the Backyard Garden Oasis and give Greta a hug from us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank iwillican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We wanted a quiet and comfortable place to stay, and we got much more than we expected. The garden is lovely, with birds and birdfeeders along with the impressive vegetable garden. Breakfast each day included fresh produce from the garden, enhanced by Greta's wonderful cooking. We were close to hiking, wineries, and the wonderful scenery, and we enjoyed it all. Truly a find - we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandDSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
I know it's been a long time, but I wanted to thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to me! When you rebook here at the oasis, remind me to get a 10% discount on your reservation. Happy Holidays! Greta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U K
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had the place to ourselves and our host was most welcoming............a true oasis for nature lovers.............cottages clean , comfortable and relaxing......great breakfast and interesting conversation.well worth a stop on the way to Nappa

Dave and Kate ( UK)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAILEYSONTOURUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bygoasis, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
It's been a long time since you stayed here, but I wanted to thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. It is a gift that keeps on giving. It means a lot to me! When you rebook here at the oasis, remind me to get a 10% discount on your reservation. Happy Holidays! Greta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Had a hot, dusty day at work. But, I also had the pleasure of cooling down on the deck of my cottage, eating dinner and sipping wine and watching the birds in the garden at Greta's. The room was clean, the towels oversized and fluffy, and the bed very comfortable. It is the best part of my work stay in Middletown!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLRGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
8.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
9.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
22.3 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Garden Oasis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Garden Oasis B&B

Property: Backyard Garden Oasis B&B
Address: 24019 Hilderbrand Rd, PO Box 1760, Middletown, CA 95461-9790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Wine Country Bed and Breakfast Inn whose 3 Diamond AAA rating is just the beginning of a quiet, serene escape to celebrate your life, whether for a wedding or anniversary or a business trip. The three cottages have king sized beds, skylights, wireless, satellite TVs, fireplaces and ac's. Views are pastoral and the breakfasts are delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Backyard Garden Oasis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Garden Oasis Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing