We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strings Italian Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Strings Italian Cafe
Ranked #21 of 153 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chowchilla, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've had the opportunity to eat at Strings several times, and it's always been top quality food. The outdoor dining is a plus, and the all you can eat nights are even better! Great restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ixjc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were on a road trip (Santa Barbara - Merced - Burlingame CA) and had dinner at this restaurant. The restaurant is large,excellent food anf service. However, it is kind of noisy. I had the Shrimp Scampi with angel hair pasta and veggies. It was excellent the pasta was cooked just right and it was perfectly spiced. Worth a comeback....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OETEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food quality poor chicken wasn't cooked very well no flavor at all pasta terrible and also cheese not out oh a grader it'd spre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Worst Italian food ever bread was all I order there nice place service ok rush around a lot but ok there food desert terrible cafeteria food be better wasted my money in that restaurant lots better place to go I'm

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank portugessboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“always friendly always yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

always friendly always yummy and the prices are not bad at all, Italian food. Outdoor area looks out over large modern church with lots of grass and bells that go off on the hour. It gets hot here-but they have misters on hot days

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danetta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good and Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As locals, we find ourselves returning to Strings when we are looking for a relaxed meal out. The servers are always friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and specials. A moderately priced wine list is available to complement your meal - glass or bottle. We always enjoy the family style salad, which will be re-filled as needed. The salad is always fresh and crisp. From a variety of sea-food (scampi, calamari, scallops) to short-ribs done al-forno and served with pasta, we have not been dissapointed. Food is always served hot and the timing of courses has been good. I never feel like I have to rush my salad or appetizer becasue the main is ready.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagpipemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strings Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Strings Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing