We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for a special occasion or just a nice evening.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Branding Iron Restaurant

The Branding Iron Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our neon sign has been designated an Historical Landmark.
Los Banos, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a special occasion or just a nice evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We love this restaurant. Food is always good and the service is the best. Their steaks are great.
We always love going here on special occasions. It is also nice when you just want a great meal. We have never had anything we did not like.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    84
    35
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“the best lunches in town and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We would probably have lunch there about every day if we weren't 'watching our waistlines'! The food and service are excellent. Even the lunches are more than enough food and we look forward to the 'take homes' to enjoy. I'd love to go through almost all of the menu in future lunches. The dinners are, of course, a little more costly for even more great food, but they put our waistlines in more jeopardy! [So we stick to lunches!]
The servers are great, always attentive and friendly. [Now that isn't to infer that other restaurants' aren't but the Branding Iron is rather outstanding.]
Names we remember are Nancy, Jarrod, Stephen [he's always around and all over the place helping] and the vivacious lady that makes all those trips from the bar to the kitchen, she always stops by to greet us and chat a minute, if she's not in too big of a hurry! All very nice....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have been to The Branding Iron MANY times and have never been disappointed yet. Their prime rib and rib eyes are unmatched. All the servers are very nice, especially Nancy and Sheril! It's been a while since my last visit but I definitely can't wait for it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dancr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great prime rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We selected the smallest sized serving of prime rib and the portion still seemed large. Very tasty. Service was very attentive without being too much

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Heartily recommended for a stop on the way to Yosemite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great lunch time steak stop on our way from San Francisco to Yosemite - excellent quality beef, with piping hot fries and a crispy salad to accompany. Yes the interior is a bit traditional / dated, but I would definitely recommend this for a no-nonsense, hearty fill up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lavapalava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Branding Iron Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Branding Iron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing