We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot”

The Branding Iron Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our neon sign has been designated an Historical Landmark.
Merced, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great spot”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

check this place out on your next visit to the Merced and Yosemite area, it is the best in town. great spot to watch all sporting events

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyFriendSwoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    87
    36
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great prices, good food, horrible service.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were in Merced as a stop over on our Honeymoon. We arrived mid week at went looking for a place to eat dinner. It was about 5:30 and we struggled to find an open restaurant other than fast food. Luckily, we found The Branding Iron. Although it was empty we decided to give it a try since our options were limited. We quickly noticed that the staff forgot to play the music and did not realize that we could hear them talking about us. I asked about one of the pasta dishes and was later made fun of behind my back for asking about pasta in a steak house. We both ended up ordering steak. The meal was incredible affordable in comparison to a chain steak restaurant. It is to bad that the poor customer service skills killed what could have been a romantic dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parlevoo, Manager at The Branding Iron Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Marcenem,
We would like to apologize for the behavior of our staff during your visit. This is embarrassing to the restaurant, and it is absolutely unacceptable. I have posted your comments (anonymously) onto our staff bulletin board for them to review. We attempt to do our best to get our staff to understand that we all must control everything we can, and behaviors and attitudes such as the ones you describe will not be tolerated.
Thank you very much for your post, and we are happy that you enjoyed your food regardless of the rude staff members that spoiled your meal.

Sincerely,
Justin Parle
Manager
The Branding Iron Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a GREAT Experience!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is by far the BEST Steak House in the Central Valley!!! It is our number one choice when we go out to eat! They have great food and great prices. When you go out to a fast food restaurant now a days....it adds up. For a few dollars more, you can enjoy a Great Steak, Burger, or just soup and salad and it's a lot healthier than eating fast food. Everyone there is always very pleasant......which makes the experience even better! Great Food....Great Service!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service at The Branding Iron Restaurant”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

On December 20, 2012 we took a chance that we could eat dinner than evening without a reservation. We didn't make a reservation as we were not sure how long our medical appointment would take. Luckily, it was just after 5:00 PM when we arrived at the Restaurant and we were greeted warmly and our request was quickly fulfilled. We were placed at a good table and our waiter was very attentive. We had a very good evening, celebrating my husband's birthday a week early as his birthday had several committments already. The steaks were prepared to our liking and we shared a dessert that was suggested by our waiter. As always we recommend this restaurant to others. There were several parties that were there to celebrate an event and obviously had chosen The BI for the friendly, comfortable atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaVon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Lovely decor and Western theme.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here after a long hiatus. My coffee steak was good, but the vegetables were cold under a like warm sauce. My husband's meal was better, but the olives and beats on his salad were served to him still frozen. I expected better and have had better meals at this establishment on the past. I love the western decor and historical cattle brand that are displayed on the walls. We will try this place again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocklvr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Branding Iron Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Branding Iron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing