We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant”
Review of Trevino's

Trevino's
Ranked #77 of 160 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Merced, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistant”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

At Trevino's you always know what you are going to get--no surprises. I don't think I have ever had a bad meal there; food is always hot--love the chicken en su crema; have had just about everything on the menu--good family place. Nice front room for a small gathering or birthday. Friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice dining experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Along with several family members we enjoyed a delicious lunch on the event of my father-in-laws 97th birthday. A table was ready for us in a separate area away from the main part of the restaurant. Each of us (8 adults) ordered a different dish from several choices. All of us were pleased with the taste and the amount of food that came with our orders. The noise level coming from the main part of the restaurant was quiet. In other words, not a large volume of music was coming from the restaurant. It made it pleasant to have lots of conversation with each other and not have to compete with loud background music. I understand Trevino's has been here for a # of years. I will certainly consider it the next time I'm looking for a Mexican restaurant! It wasn't "fancy", but the server was attentive and the food was very authentic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kgaribay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
2 reviews
“Good Food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have eaten at Trevino's many times as I live in Merced, they have great tasting Mexican food. I come her often! I would reccomend to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've eaten here twice now and have had less than mediocre food both times. The carnitas was DRY. It was so dry that I had trouble cutting it. In fact, 3 people at our table ordered it and everyone left more than half of the small portion on their plates. (We were hungry, so all of the rice & beans were gone, but the carnitas remained.) The waitress picked up the plates without even questioning it or making sure it was ok. I guess they must have already known it wasn't when they served it to us. The chips are just ok, the rice & beans are also just ok.

Lunch specials are $7.95 and they are definitely not that special. I won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank on2teaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
578 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I ate here with several other people while in Merced last month for a work related training. This was my first visit to this restaurant and I enjoyed my meal here. I ordered the chile verde plate which came with beans, rice and tortillas. I thought the food was delicious and tasted homemade. One of the best things about the meal was that both corn and flour tortillas are made in the restaurant. I had the flour tortillas and it was a treat to have homemade tortillas with my meal. My dining companions also reported that they enjoyed their meals. The dining room was fairly good sized with plenty of seating. Servers were pleasant and attentive. I would recommend this restaurant for very good Mexican food and hope to return one day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trevino's also viewed

 

Been to Trevino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing