We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Merced
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good value!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

1) the freeway is nearby and noisy. Secret? Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. It's much quieter.
2) the scrumptious breakfast consists of fresh and tasty items. Pastries, fruit, juices, yogurt, usual scrambled eggs, sausage etc. The waffles are made by pouring fresh batter onto the waffle iron. Delicious!
Coffee is strong and comparable to Starbucks. In short, eating breakfast in the hotel brings down the room price and leaves you full and satisfied.
3) Rooms are clean. Yes, it looks like an older hotel, but it's well maintained.
Looking for a place to eat lunch/ dinner? Try New China Cafe on W. Main St ( 2 miles ) Cheap price, huge quantity and very tasty food.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank card60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    32
    19
    25
See reviews for
44
38
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pine Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I travel to Merced on an irregular schedule and the staff at this hotel has always been friendly and courteus. My room has consistently been clean and fresh. I truly appreciate the well maintained training rooms including the pool and spa. The meals at the Bistro are well prepared and presented. Thank you for providing me with comfort away from home.

Room Tip: I have not been uncomfortable on any floor,however I prefer the first floor because of the close pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We only stayed one night but the hotel staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Everything I would expect from a Comfort Inn. There is a restaurant next store if you don't feel like driving around for somewhere to eat. The location makes this hotel a perfect place to stop on the way to or from Yosemite!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeE138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have used this hotel on several occasions when attending meetings in nearby Atwater. The Carrow's Restaurant is nearby (walkable) for a quick, inexpensive, easy meal. Have always had a clean room and friendly staff. I can hear a train whistle from time to time, and other guests walking in the open halls, so if your a light sleeper this isn't the hotel for you. I plan to stay there again on my next trip to that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We chose Comfort Inn for being Pet Friendly. We checked in on Wednesday April 3, 2013 and were given room # 207. When we walked into the room the stench of pet urine was so strong that we knew the carpet had been soiled by a pet. We talked to housekeeping and were told that they have tried everything to remove the urine smell with no success. Housekeeping has reported this to front desk. When we asked for another room we were given a clean room. At check out the clerk told us that room # 207 shouldn't be given to any guests (somehow the room was placed back in active list). If we had not asked we would've had to suffer the stench of pet urine. The carpet was not only soiled by dirty and old, same as the curtains and bed linens. Towels were clean.

Room Tip: Always ask for a clean room (we should not have to ask and should expect to have a clean room). If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marga W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great basic hotel! Looking for a stopover hotel after a long drive en-route to Yosemite. Arrived late but staff was very help and happy (needed that after a long drive). Got up early to catch the bus to Yosemite. Excellent beds and breakfast. Exceeded my expectations! Would good there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcrest55129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha G, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Another last minute choice but pleased . Hotel is 3 stories with an elevator . Clean rooms for the price , no problems with check-in . Friendly staff ! Nice looking lobby area . Parking is average though I think some spots are shared with the Carrows restaurant in front of property . My room was clean , furnishings were decent , bathroom clean & no critters to complain about . Left early so cannot comment on restaurant or continental breakfast ! Though I did see breakfast area as it was being set up & it looked good & clean . A plus for me is that I was offered a cup of coffeee for the road ! Next to major interstate but surprisingly quiet . Would stay there again !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunky-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha G, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It's alot of hard work to keep an older property up,and we thank you for your acknowledgement of our hard work and hopefully we will be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.3 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#9 of 14 in Merced
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 730 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5151 (Formerly Comfort Inn Merced)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Merced Hotel Merced
Merced Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing