We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanest cheap motel you'll find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Merced Yosemite
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cleanest cheap motel you'll find.”
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Let's be clear -- this is a cheap motel. However, it has many amenities--including location--and is immaculately clean.

The Travelodge is one of several name-brand motels just off CA-99 as you head toward Yosemite National Park from Merced.

The finishes and furniture are very low-budget, but entirely functional and clean. We found that the beds slept remarkably well, even though they were obviously cheap mattresses. If you're in the two-story section, you'll hear people walking around upstairs. Likewise, the walls don't block a lot of sound. If you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs.

On the plus side, the rooms are immaculately clean, spacious, and include an in-room safe, refrigerator, and microwave. The location is perfect for a simple overnight stay on your way into Yosemite.

A tip regarding Yosemite: Route 140 from here is a beautiful drive, don't do it after dark!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClayNeruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    82
    43
    37
See reviews for
73
85
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
324 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Even it's located in the suburbs, this lodge offers all you need for a low price, the cheapest in the area. Rooms are made up with all the facilities and is suggested to buy breakfast stuff in a market 'cause the one they serve is the poorest I've ever tried. For dinner there are some fast-food at about 2 miles and reaching Yosemite is very easy 'cause the motel is located right on its highway.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ventofreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed two nights here while visiting family in the area. We got a great deal on a room here, so we booked it.

We arrived and were checked in quickly our room was ready. It is an older motel, but our room looked like it had been remodeled, in the not too distant past. We had a king sized bed and the room was small but it was fine for my husband and myself for two nights. The carpets were clean as was the room itself. We liked the bathroom. Although it was small, the shower was pretty good and very different for a motel. It was a fully tiled in shower, no tub. Which is OK for us since I wouldn't take a bath in a motel anyway. It was nice to have the roomy shower without fighting the shower curtain. There was also a refridge/microwave, a large cabinet with the TV in it, and a desk in the room. Parking was right next to the room.

The staff was friendly. The breakfast was muffins and some coffee/juice that are in the front desk area. They also have free wifi.

I will also mention the trains. They seemed to always come through early, one right after the other. No fault of the motels, but they are there. They only really woke us up on one of the mornings.

Overall we had a good stay and would stay here again with the good prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikayla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here for one night on the way from Yosemite to Monterey. The hotel is average for a road side motel and really don't have any complaints.
The room is spacious with a full kitchen area, the bed was large although the bed sheet didnt fit (what is it with travelodge that they don't seem to have sheets the correct size), I also hate it when the sheets are so thin and it is places directly onto the matteress it makes it feel cheap.
The bathroom was ok, we had a disabled access room. although the shower was broken and in desperate need of repair, we tried to switch rooms but were advised they were sold out,
Reception was nice and the gentleman who checked us in was very helpful.
We left really early so didnt get to sample the breakfast or the pool.
Not a cheap place to stay and there are other hotels just around the corner - if you can get the same rate for the Courtyard I would probably recommend to do that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidvacationer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merced hotels

Las Vegas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We rented this room using Hotwire so we didn't get to choose our hotel. We didn't expect 4 star hotel amenities but we did expect a clean, decent room. While not a raging health hazard, it certainly would embarrass me if I owned the place. I am not pickey, the place was just that beat up. Good thing it was only for one night because I would have been divorced. Here's what I sent Hotwire & Travelodge:

Let me start off by saying that I am not extremely picky or demanding. (That should be obvious by the fact that we didn't stay at a 4 star hotel). The hotel lobby had a sign that they were undergoing renovation, and the lobby actually was. Too bad they didn't start with the room we were given.

The outside was deceptively pleasant. Inside the room showed a lack of attention to detail in upkeep and cleaning. The entry door stuck upon opening, and the interior side of it was extremely dirty. It needed scrubbing and paint. Then there was the 3 foot long piece of reinforcing steel plate bolted to the door frame that looked like it belonged in a prison instead of a hotel room. The carpeting was coming up around the door. The baseboards were extremely beaten up and dirty. They almost looked like they had never been cleaned or painted. The curtains over the window interfered with the a/c unit and kept blowing all around until I put my shoes on the the window sill to keep the curtains held down.

The bathroom was okay on the surface, but needed a deep cleaning. My wife actually refused to use the shower. You could see built up grunge in the corners and along the top of the baseboards again. The raised panel decorative door in the bathroom hadn't been cleaned so there was very noticeable dirt on the panels. The walls needed to be scrubbed as well. Oh yeah, the door knob was actually coming loose on the door, it was about 1/2 way off. I don't know who picked out the tile but it is "unique" to say the least.

There was actually dust you could write your name in on top of the TV cabinet. I guess their maids are all under 5'6".

Overall, it is obvious that their daily cleaning efforts are minimal and rushed. They never go back and do a deep cleaning of the corners, baseboards, doors, etc.

I rented this room using Hotwire so I didn't get to pick the Hotel myself. Sometimes you get a great room like the one we had at a Crowne Plaza in San Francisco yesterday and sometimes you get this. Roll the dice........

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertdog999998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Booked this hotel for location and based on a few good reviews I had read! When we arrived the room was ok but could do with some updating. Room was clean and had a shower - shame no bath! There was free wi-fi but had to ask reception for the details they were not volunteered when we checked in. There was sufficient free parking. Very disapointed with the breakfast was told it was 0700 - 1000 went there at just after 0800 and no cakes left only coffee and orange juice seemed like they did not cater for any guests and didn't seem the least bit bothered there was no food left and the reception stunk badly of onions - not the best smell for a morning with no breakfast! Would not stay here or recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2009

The room offered basic amenities, was very clean and easy to find despite an afterdark arrival. The hotel staff is very helpful. The room was very quiet. Allow time for the air conditioning to adjust the room temperature to comfortable levels. Good central location. I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid_Traveler_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.2 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#9 of 14 in Merced
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Merced Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Merced Yosemite

Property: Travelodge Merced Yosemite
Address: 1260 Yosemite Pkwy, Rose Ave & Yosemite Parkway, Merced, CA 95341-5264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Merced Yosemite 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only about an hour and half from Yosemite National Park this property offers large spacious rooms with amenities like Microwaves and Refrigerators, 32 Inch or 43 Inch Flat Screen TV's with HD Channels and HBO, Coffee Makers and Hair Dryers in all rooms. Enjoy one of our Jacuzzi Suites specially designed for great comfort and rest after a long day from your adventure! Also, grab a quick bite in the morning from our Bear Bites Breakfast items such as danish, toast, juices, and cereal. Lake Yosemite and UC Merced are only a quick 10 minute drive. Stay Close To Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Merced Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Merced Yosemite Hotel Merced
Travel Lodge Merced
Merced Travelodge
Merced Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing