We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$179
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Merced(Merced)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Merced)
$66
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Merced)
$75
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Merced)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
30
53
52
41
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
53
52
41
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecurity camerasa pet friendly hotelbest hotel in towndecent stayhotel is locatedtrain noisenice place to stayoutdoor poolnice breakfastcomfortable bedswaffleshwytiffanyearrailwaycalifornia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 210 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to Yosemite. The room was clean and comfortable, everything was in working order, and the breakfast buffet the next morning was better than expected. The woman at the desk was helpful with directions. The only downside, and it could be a big one, is the location, which is right on Freeway 99, the primary trucking road for CA's central valley agriculture. There was a pair of earplugs provided in the room, if that gives you an idea. Can't imagine any of the neighboring hotels are any quieter. If the noise doesn't bother you, then this is a worthwhile place to check out. If you are a light sleeper, try to get farther away from the highway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western Plus Inn here in Merced. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.
We are aware that, although, it is convenient being right off the freeway it also has some disadvantages. This is why we have taken steps such as installing double pane windows, solid wooden doors and providing earplugs to our guest to ensure they have the most pleasant stay possible.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure you we are doing everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here one night for UC graduation. We had 3 rooms. It is extremely loud and close to the freeway and major railway line. There's a Carrows within walking distance, but a drive to other eateries.

Lady at the desk was not very helpful. The air conditioner in one of the rooms didn't work, but to management's credit, they put in a portable air conditioner for the night. Bathrooms have no fans and are very small. Not sure I'd stay here again, but there doesn't seem to be many other options in Merced that are away from the freeway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our Best Western Plus Inn here in Merced. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.
We are aware that, although, it is convenient being right off the freeway it also has some disadvantages. This is why we have taken steps such as installing double pane windows, solid wooden doors and providing earplugs to our guest to ensure they have the most pleasant stay possible.
I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations we strive for with all our guests – the type we pride ourselves in. My staff will be made aware of your comments and we will all take immediate corrective action.
We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus Inn the next time you are in Merced. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have stayed here once before and decided to stay here again because it's a good deal. Other hotels in the area were more expensive and we were only staying one night. The beds are a little uncomfortable but I took some memory foam pillows and it was better. This time there was a notice on the desk that they were providing earplugs because of possible noise from the freeway. We hadn't noticed the first time (last summer) and it didn't bother us this time either. It was nice that they were proactive and provided them ahead of time. The staff is pleasant. There is a continental breakfast in the morning but we didn't eat it either time. When we checked out (room 138) I mentioned that the hot and cold faucet handles in the sink were reversed and they said they would fix it. For the price it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your return visit to our hotel. Also we would like to thank you for notifying us about the faucets being switched and we apologize for any inconvenience it might have caused.
Sorry to hear that you haven't had the chance to enjoy our continental breakfast though, it is mighty yummy! We certainly enjoyed having you with us and are looking forward to your return in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this BW on one of my visits to see my daughter at the UC. This BW is a great motel. It is reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be staying there on my future visits.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeeLee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary review.
I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.
We appreciate your staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were on a 3 week road trip round California, Arizona and Utah. Merced seemed ideally placed for a trip to Yosemite. This hotel was a mistake. Reception was cool if not unfriendly, the room was ok, if dated, the A/C was the loudest I've ever heard, but the real killer is Highway 99, which is directly accross from the hotel. We couldn't use the pool as it had been taken over by a bunch of bikers for a pool party! There was virtually no food options close to the hotel and the whole area seems pretty run down.A hot and very noisey night followed and we were glad to be on our way.

Room Tip: They will all be noisey.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princeoverthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany G, Manager at Best Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

thank you for taking the time to write us a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews