We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel 1.5 hours from Yosemite”
Review of Courtyard Merced

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Merced
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We choose this hotel primarily because of its location to Yosemite and distance from San Francisco and we were not disappointed. This hotel is directly off the highway, but the noise from the traffic wasn't a factor unless you opened the sliding door. We arrived fairly late but the staff had prepared our room which was clean and tidy with the extra bed that we requested. The breakfast was good and had a great variety of selections each day. They did have free internet access but the only wifi was in the common areas, it was a direct connect in the room. The drive to Yosemite was easy from this hotel and it provided a great place to return to after the park. The kids really enjoyed the indoor pool too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTCPEREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 475 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

This is your basic new style Courtyard by Marriott. Nothing out of the ordinary just your typical Courtyard. Check in was fine. Room was fine. Bed was comfy. Service Average.

Everything was fine.

Was a little taken a back when I asked the front desk person for a nice place to eat and he recommended D'Angelos.

Negative, Internet sucked and too close to the Railroad tracks

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiiantraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Can't imagine a more comfortable place to stay if you come to Merced .. ..

A beautiful, new Marriott that sure seemed a bit more spacious and colorful than other Courtyards I've been to .. .. I was surprised how nice the Lounge/Internet Center was laid out and it felt more 'clubby' than 'lobbyish' .. .. VERY NICE & COMFORTABLE .. ..

The rooms were standard Courtyard = NEAT & SUPER-COMFY!!

The only drawback about the location is the outdoor sound (mainly trains) .. .. I noticed it when I was awake, but it has to be unavoidable in the Central Valley because of the amount of train traffic up an down the breadbasket .. .. Again, I only noticed it while I was awake and getting work done .. ..

Again, another PERFECT COURTYARD!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

This could be a wonderful hotel if not for the lack of quality control. This Courtyard is new, well designed, very clean and has friendly service. It is close to a freeway exit but quiet enough for nightly comfort. So what is wrong with it? It's the small things inside your room. The ergonomic chair in our room was ruined, it just wasn't manageable anymore because the adjustment features were broken. The modern flat screen TV was worthless because the hotel has no digital reception and the TV was pre-set for the wrong format. It's things like these that a traveler has to live with these days - even in a new and otherwise very comfortable hotel. It's just annoying. Is there any Courtyard hotel out there that is perfect? My advice: Don't stop in Merced, drive the few miles to Madera, and stay at the brand new SpringHill Suites which is also a Marriott hotel but better than this one.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I was unfamiliar with the area and selected this place based on other reviews. I was not disappointed! The rooms are large and very nice for business travelers. The hotel lobby has a great place to sit and watch television while you have a beer (which you can purchase there). The service was awesome. Kevin, the Assistant General Manager, treated me like I was a VIP. I haven't had that quality of service from some four-star resorts. There are some real questionable motels in Merced so do yourself a favor and just stay at this place, you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norco951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Cancelled a reservation at the Best Western down the street and I think I made a big mistake. Sure the place looks nicer than the Best western, but the price was higher also. This is a newer hotel and one would think the contruction would have been better (noisey). We could hear the noise in all directions. People walking above you, out in the hallway, conversations on either side,,, and I'm at that age of hearing loss. We even had a guy vacuuming the hallways at 8pm. Unfortunate bad contruction here, I guess it goes with the area. I like Marriot, but I think they were taken on this one. Travel the distance and try another one.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank cardiocase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I stayed for three nights while on a business trip. This is one of the nicer of the smaller Courtyards (smaller ones tend not to have on-site restaurants). Everything was fresh, clean, and all in good working order. Staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful.
The room was also always clean and in good working order. Nice, comfortable bed. The only slightly negative feedback I have is that in-room internet connectivity sometimes cuts in and out.
I would definately return to this location. I conducted my trainings down the road at the Holiday Inn Express. That hotel was also nice, but the Courtyard was just a bit more sophisticated in it's decor and operation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merced
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.2 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Turlock
Hampton Inn Turlock
#1 of 11 in Turlock
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Merced

Address: 750 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: $101 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Merced 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merced Hotel Merced
Marriott Merced
Merced Marriott
Merced Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing