We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Courtyard Merced

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Merced
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stay at the above mentioned hotel at least twice a month on business. I stay there because it's clean, the food and service in the cafe are excellent and being I'm on business, the front office especially the night manager Xay Xiong are always going out of their way to help me in business related issues that I have. This is important when on the road when copies are something printed for a client needs to be done,and the hotel staff is so accomodating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 463 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our son goes to U.C. Merced so this is and will continue to be a fairly frequent stopover for us. We were there on a Sunday night as we could drop him off Monday after 10am following winter break. The hotel has an indoor pool/jaquzi which is well suited for winter travel, but the pool is heated way to warm, and very humid in there. With the highway right behind the hotel, the rooms at the front will have less road noise, our room was on the rear side, and although it had one of the few balconies, it had no chairs or tables on it, and with the road noise would have been unusable anyway. Food is available down in the lobby, but we did not partake this trip. We enjoy all of Marriott products and Courtyard fits in nicely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

From my experience anyway, you know where you are with this chain and the Merced property did not fail to deliver. Just one night here as a base for an excursion into Yosemite (80 miles away) as part of a longer west coast tour. It proved to be an excellent transit hotel and has wethered what I suspect to be a very high guest turnover rate.

No time to explore Merced but perhaps a pity the hotel is not down town when that may have been possible. The property was scrupulously clean so much so that I felt the hotel could have been a recent opening.

Our room, like most US hotels, was generously proportioned with nice fresh decor and fitments.
The bathroom was provided with good linen and everything worked as it should, hair dryer included. Importantly, it was very clean and well serviced. A coffee maker was provided.

The beds (twin) were off a good size, comfy and provided an excellent night's sleep.

There is a small restaurant / bar facility off the lobby with a lmited menu. We took our breakfast here which was served by cheerful helpful staff and proved very satisfactory. Doubt whether we'll be that way again but if ever no hesitation in booking the Courtyard again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Good clean hotel, room spacious and clean. Tv, coffee etc, wish they would give you more milk in these places, you can always ask. Good size and comfortable bed, decent barthroim and facilities. Nice inside pool and spa, towels provided. Quite Location. Only stayed here for one night, passing through from Yosemite National Park, well in range from here, catching train following day to Vegas. Few places to eat nearby. This is a one night stop over kind if hotel and yes I would stay here again. Well done Merced.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a typical business hotel, very clean, tactfully decorated with a polite staff. The sleep quality was not great, due to the hotel's proximity to Highway 99 (like an interstate) and a railroad. The room had a lot of noise, and some shaking from passing trains. Try to avoid this by requesting a room with a low, odd number (101, 203, 305, etc.) - these rooms are farther from traffic & train noise. The location is not very accessible to restaurants or shopping, and there's nowhere to talk a stroll - the location is great for highway access. There was also a lot of light coming into the room - from a bright hallway light and large gap under the room door, and a very bright alarm clock - this made it hard to sleep unless you cover the light sources. The alarm clock was difficult to use. A hotel of this caliber should be offering a complimentary breakfast, but here you have to pay. Wifi was good and easy to use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wedding to attend at a winery in Merced and this Courtyard by Marriott was perfect for the trip. Checkin was easy and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable - remember, this isn't a luxury hotel but it was very nice. The rates were reasonable and the hotel is located next to the highway and only a few minutes from the downtown area. The hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool area. There is a cafe in the hotel serving food, coffee, and assorted adult beverages with a pleasant sitting area. There is wifi in every room and computers in the lobby for use; however, the bandwidth is a bit narrow for the hotel so it's rather slow.
To summarize:

PROs:
- Clean
- Inexpensive
- Friendly staff
- Nice lobby area with drinks and food for purchase (TIP: you can pay for coffee at the cafe or you can just look opposite from the cafe at the center console in the lobby and find FREE coffee there.)
- Good location to get to things in the Merced area
- Indoor and outdoor pool (both small but nice)

CONS:
- Slow internet
- Some rooms on the highway side are a little noisy - ask for a room on the northeast side of the hotel to reduce the noise
- Gym area is VERY small

Overall, a very good stay in Merced and I'd recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the northeast side of the hotel to avoid some of the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for just one night recently following a day in Yosemite. Our room was a good size, with two comfortable beds and a large bathroom. Very clean. All staff we encountered were helpful and pleasant. We had a dinner in the Hotel bar area which was fine. The Hotel has a laundry room with a washer and dryer guests can use for a couple of dollars. Free access to internet in the hotel lounge area. Although we did not use it, there was also an indoor pool. We would happily stay here again. Our room was quietly located.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Merced

Address: 750 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: $111 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Merced 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merced Hotel Merced
Marriott Merced
Merced Marriott
Merced Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing