We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Bear Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Merced B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A beautiful period home in superb grounds. We stayed in what was the master bedroom complete with separate dressing / shower room and delightful veranda. The whole house was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The staff were charming and very helpful and the breakfast delicious. The only downside were the distant train horns at night but you soon got used to them and they're not offputting. Overall a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 31 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and the first night we had the place to ourselves. Unfortunately we had unwanted guests at 03.30 in the morning and had to call the police.Apart from that this is a marvellous place to stay.The room was lovely apart from the television which had a mind of its own, the house is very spacious and beautiful and the grounds are very large with a vintage car from I believe 1908 in the garden. Breakfast was prepared each morning by a delightful girl who went out of her way to make what you wanted and the manageress was extremely friendly willing to drive us around town.The house is situated in a quiet area with a nice park across the street ,10 minutes walk from the Amtrak station and 15 minutes walk from the main steet where the restaurants are. We would definitely stay here again, great place to stop over if going to yosemite ...and yes due to the breakin and our disturbed night they gave us a full refund.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet...house is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staying at Hooper House was like staying with your wealthy friend. With a friendly staff the Inn and grounds were wonderfully maintained. There were antiques throughout. Great breakfast and a Keurig beverage area for guests with a microwave with popcorn. The rooms were large, there was a sun room, balcony, lush gardens and lawns. We are looking forward to returning. A large local park within walking distance. The only negative was that the recession had struck the city so severely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here along with our two dogs as a stop-over on our long drive from Oregon to San Diego. We were looking for someplace near the midpoint of our trip and randomly picked Merced. If this B&B were anywhere else they would be able to charge twice as much. We stayed in the free-standing Buggy House. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and the towels were incredibly soft. We also appreciated the bottled water and sodas. Cheryl served us a wonderful breakfast at the time we requested. The grounds are also beautiful.

The only downside would be the neighborhood/area. We walked our dogs to the park across the street and while we didn't feel totally unsafe, we felt quite out of place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraA309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What ever your reason to visit Merced, business or pleasure, this is the only place to stay. The Hooper House Bear Creek Inn is a historical property impeccably restored and maintained. Samantha was our amazing innkeeper full of great information on the grounds, the history of the house and Merced in general. She also whipped up an delicious gluten free breakfast just for me. Don't forget to Take a walk along the Bear Creek in the evening after a long day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank decocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Are you coming home from Yosemite? Going to a Valley U.C. campus for business? Then this is the place to stay. The Bed and the Breakfast add to the experience if staying in a gracious Central California home. Breakfast is the real deal - no toaster ovens and bagels (unless you want them). The front rooms need more sound insulation. Merced is a classic California Central Valley city - the railroad runs right through the center of town. Ask for the cottage behind the main house. If you sleep lightly the extra quiet is nice.

Room Tip: Get the cottage if you are a light sleeper, or if you just want teh luxury of a little extra room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C2000Consulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I'm torn about how to write this review because the aspects that I didn't enjoy about my visit are not under the staff's control at the Hooper House. The property is lovely, beautiful, cozy house with a beautiful garden. The rooms spacious and clean, and tastefully decorated with antiques. The bed was super comfy too. I can only say good things about the staff and the service. Everyone was very friendly and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I really felt well taken care of during my stay at the Hooper House.
Now for the negatives; the property is very close to a busy street and the train station, which results in quite a bit of noise through the night and especially early in the morning. I was not happy waking up at 6 am to the train whistle. If you are an early morning riser or use earplugs to sleep, the none of this will be a problem. Unfortunately it was for light-sleepers like me. However I have to say that, despite having less sleep than I wished, all my crankiness vanished at the sight of the big smiles of the staff and a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dharma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
463 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
1.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#8 of 14 in Merced
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Inn

Address: 575 W North Bear Creek Dr, Merced, CA 95348 (Formerly Hooper House Bear Creek Inn)
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Merced
Price Range: $183 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bear Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing