We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J & R Tacos

J & R Tacos
Ranked #8 of 157 Restaurants in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal
Description: Service out of this world and extraordinary food.
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I went to this taqueria on my last night in Merced. It is a nice little place and the food was very good. I had enchilada with black beans and a beer. With tip was $13. Cheap and good.

Helpful?
Thank Gunnar010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merced
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Merced's Favorite Tacqueria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Friendly help, good food, indoor and outdoor seating, and good prices. The proprietor is always in supporting the community and the arts. I think he knows everyone in Merced!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cosmosticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We decided on trying J & R's based on reviews here and we were happy that we did. The food was delicious. Everything made from fresh ingredients. The service was great, too. We took note of the cranberry pound cake and other desserts, but were too full to try them! The selection of Mexican-made soft drinks was an unexpected surprise and made the experience all the more satisfying. Cheap and good-- just what we wanted!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CmSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Literally the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I came here with a couple friends and we were not disappointed! The environment was great, the workers were great, and the food was AMAZING! I refuse to eat at any other taco place in town! J & R Tacos is hands-down the best, the bee's knees, arms, and legs!!! If you're considering coming here, don't doubt yourself! If you want real, fresh, reasonably priced, authentic Mexican food.. this is spot! My new favorite place to eat in town!

Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stopped here going to Yosemite based on the Trip Advisor reviews. Liked it so much, we stopped again when leaving Yosemite. Nice location in downtown Merced which is a nice walking district. Enjoyed the Tacos al pastor and tostadas with shredded beef. The beef tamale was excellent and large. The chicken quesadilla was large seved with lettuce and tomato in the quesadilla. It was also not oozing with cheese so was lighter than other quesadillas I've had. I would try anything on their menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4FunYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J & R Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing