We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J & R Tacos

J & R Tacos
Ranked #8 of 159 Restaurants in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal
Description: Service out of this world and extraordinary food.
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Was driving through Merced en-route to Yosemite, and stopped here for dinner. Wanted tacos, and found this place online. Really recommend! The tacos were very good: fresh and extremely tasty (tasted homemade). The service was also great; the staff were extremely friendly. Would definitely recommend this place for people going through Merced looking for an affordable and tasty dinner in a casual relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great and creative tacos, friendly folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with the Al Pastor tacos and the $2 beer Tuesday night special. Great food, great service, though don't go if you're looking for waiter service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NoVaWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Trendy. Friendly. Authentic. Busy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

J&R Tacos was selected as the Merced FLASH BUY group's spot for today, April 5th, 13. Went at lunch - and waited just a few minutes for a complex order. (Mild stuff for little kids, ultra-healty stuff for "grandma", and manly stuff for "grandpa."

It hit the spot in all respects. I bet it's a hopping spot in the evenings!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Photom299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Natural ingredients and terrific flavor! Best authentic enchiliadas I've had in years! Highly suggest, if you are in the Merced area, to not miss this one!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unicorn1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Oops. Missed a few tacos but they fixed the problem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My take out order was missing a few items. When I called, the woman who answered the phone was very apologetic. The day staff let the evening staff know when I would be returning for the forgotten tacos, and these folks apologized as well. Excellent customer service!

The carne asada tacos were devoured by the meat eaters in our group, and the veggie taco I had was absolutely wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificNWFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & R Tacos also viewed

 

Been to J & R Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing