We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious hostess and excellent food”

Toni's Courtyard Cafe
Ranked #3 of 159 Restaurants in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In downtown Merced....patio and indoor seating. Excellent food and service. Locally owned
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Gracious hostess and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had read about Toni's on our way to Merced, but didn't arrive until about 3:45 p.m. Saw that the door was open, although all the chairs had been put up, and someone was cleaning. After a minute or two, Toni saw us. We asked if we could still get lunch (they officially stop serving at 3 p.m.), and she said "sure" since the chef was still there. Originally, we sat outside on the patio (so they could continue cleaning the inside), but eventually the flies got the better of us, so she offered to move us inside. The patio is lovely, with a nice fountain and comfortable seating. Don't know what the fly "situation" usually is. We had a chicken salad plate and a mediterranean chicken salad plate. Both were extremely fresh, tasty, and generous. Fresh rolls were also included. Much to our surprise, the menu noted that on Wednesdays, customers got free dessert with lunch. We weren't going to say anything because we felt like interlopers at that late hour. But our very attentive waitress came by and asked us what we wanted for dessert. I had a chocolate torte that was fabulous, and my husband had a light, not-too-sweet lemon cake. We felt very lucky to have received this kind of hospitality and really enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    35
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

As always the food is excellent. One time it was so crowded that I had to wait longer for a table for three which cut into their time to eat and get back to work, and I had to have my lunch boxed. Unfortunately, the staff can't keep track of those who are waiting and someone who came in after me pushed forward and was taken first. The next time it wasn't as crowded and we had a very enjoyable lunch and visit. Definitely a place to go for lunch as the food is excellent, and the staff attempts to get you in and seated as quickly as possible.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a find! It was even better than the reviews we read on Yelp that caused us to stop for lunch on our way from LA to SF. We were disappointed that the Salmon Benedict was only a breakfast item, but delighted with our choice to share the house salad with candied walnuts, cranraisins and blue cheese as well as the five star grilled cheese sandwich with fabulous parmesan crusted bread. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Great place to stop off ther 99 on our trip north or south."

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Toni and her staff do a wonderful job on lunch at their charming location in downtown Merced. I have tried a number of items on their menu and have not been disappointed with anything -- high quality food at a great price. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place is fantastic, and has tons of gluten-free options (including sandwiches!) which is really refreshing. The sweet potato fries are delicious. I love both the breakfast and lunch menus. The only downside is their hours - closed on Sundays and closed by 3 all other days. I seem to always want Toni's on Sundays, so that stinks!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KJS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toni's Courtyard Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Toni's Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing