We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service..”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Merced
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service..”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

i come here maybe about every other week.. and the reason why is because its such a good place to go to especially when im out here to visit someone the folks that work here are soo good with customer.. they make u feel very comfortable with your needs... the rooms are great.. unlike other inns and motel.. the rooms here got pretty good beds..(so comfortable u would feel like ur sleeping on clouds) great ac for them hot days so i dont know why i seen people saying its ancient as its a bad thing.. these so called ancient acs and heaters work like a charm..parking is also great. its pretty much by ur door step lols if not the farthest u would park wud just be what 20 feet away? thats still decent than where u have to walk far or go through all the trouble just to get to ur room... and unlike other places.. they actually call u and check if u need room service not like other places where they would just knock and say "room service" then walk away after a second. the son is great also.. he would set up and actually look for the rooms u want he even went out of his way to get some batteries for my remote controller i never seen that at any other hotels.. if they didnt have batteries then they say they cant help.. he goes out to store and get u fresh ones.. now thats great service... and ask u if u need anything else. honestly the reason why i always come back is because of the folks at sandpipers. the rooms are clean it.. tv is great.. cable is awesome... theres a good fridge and microwave. and not to mention very good security camera set up through out the whole place so u know nothing would happen to your car and you can have a peace of mind when you fall asleep. the pool is small but hey atleast its not over crowded. also the price is great.. they dont go jacking up the prices just because they feel like it.. they actually go wit the price they listed. like what they say "you get what u pay for" but in this case. u get more than what u pay for. and another perk that i like about this place is.. u dont have to wait around just to check out.. where u feel like "where are they. im late to leave" theres actually a key slot by the office.. just drop off ur key card and go. i give this place 5 stars just because it feels like home away from home.5 mins away from downtown merced. the freeway is like literally across from you... everything u need is just walks away or if ur lazy a min drive away lols.

Room Tip: i also seen rooms that have three beds... and its very roomy for families.. so its not like the trad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank You so much for taking some time and leaving us your opinion or review about your recent stay. In your opinion/review, overall you mention about our customer service and we are glad to hear that our staff is all about customer service. In addition, you have mention everything what we have to offer in details so we would highly appreciate that you took some time and wrote a very detail review for future customers. Other important thing that catch our eyes that you have mentioned in your tips area that we also have room with 3 beds and yes we do have rooms which hold 3 double/standard beds for the family or large group.
Once again, thank you so much for your time for leaving us a great review and we appreciate your business. We look forward to see you at Hotel when you come to Merced during your next trip. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
32
52
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was looking for a budget stopover, and that's exactly what I got. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful.

Clean, functional room, and no problem getting a shower and a good night's sleep. Internet worked fine.

I was a bit worried about noise as it faced onto a highway, but didn't notice anything once the door was closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank You for leaving us your opinion/review regarding your stay. We appreciate your time and effort that you have invested towards us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay and it was perfect for you. Once again, We appreciate your business and we were glad to have you. We hope your journey goes well ahead and hope to see you soon in the future. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layztrav
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our room was sweltering HOT when we opened the door. The ancient window a/c unit with a clogged vent filter took to long to affect the room. We checked in late and that made it very hard to go to sleep. It was cooler outside in the night air and we probably could have slept better in the minivan with the windows down.

The sheets were clean but the beds are in need of major rehab. The mattresses are old.

The shower door was difficult to close. Even more dangerous was the bath room window. The latch did not lock and the window could be opened from the outside. I placed the soap dish in the window seal to limit the opening to make it impossible for someone to crawl through or at least I would hear them coming in the room. This compromised the safety of the room and is a major failure on the motel’s part.

Another thing, I booked the room through Priceline and I understand Priceline rooms are guaranteed for 2 people in the room. However, the motel policies that I got when I booked stated 2 children could stay in the room free as long as they used the existing beds. That brought our occupancy to 4. I still have the policies in writing.

Here is the problem. The bathroom had 2 towels and 2 bath clothes on the rack. The next morning we asked a staff member for 2 more towels and 2 more bath clothes. She said we could have 1 towel and we must exchange a used towel for the other. WHAT???!!! After a lengthy and exhausting effort, we finally got the towels. RIDICULOUS!! The last thing I want to do in the morning is to fight the staff for towels.

I booked this room solely on the tripadvisor reviews and, after really examining the reviews tonight (the night after my stay); they eerily begin to sound the same. Also, I noticed the one review posters and their associated broken English styles and they just started traveling with tripadvisor the same year of their one review. Could some thing fishy be going on here? Could there be faking reviews for this motel? I know this is a serious charge but it is my opinion. You are free to form your own.

I’m sure there will be some type of reply from the management to probably make excuses. Nevertheless, you never get a second chance to make a first impression. These problems are enough to keep me away forever.

My recommendation is that you take my terrible first-hand experience and choose some where else to stay.

Room Tip: "If you must stay here, stay out of unsafe room 106"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank layztrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your opinion/review about us. I see that you did not enjoy your stay here. However, i agree that weather is hot here in Merced and downstairs rooms are little bit cooler than upstaires. As you mentioned that AC units are old, i agree with you that AC units are old and we are in process of changing couple of rooms a month. In addition, all the other problems that had with old mattress, bathroom windows, and bathroom door could be taken care of easily if we were aware of that. Yes i agree that maximum occupancy is 4 people including 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 16 stay free of charge when using a existing bedding(Policy just changed again as of yesterday to Children under the age of 12 stay free of charge when using a existing bedding). Moreover, your reservation did not include any notes or request that they are 4 people so how can we assume that. If we were drawn attention upon check in regarding this we would have took care of the linen issue right away. As far as you concern about faking a reviews, TripAdvisor take serious steps towards it and they make sure that all the reviews are not fake. Thank You for your opinion and good luck in your travelling journey ahead. We appreciate your business. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed 2 nights over here. First night, I had a bad experience with AC having noise coming all over night. I asked to change room next day and it was done without any issues. The other room was clean and had a nice experience over there. Microwave and Refrig. made a easy stay here.it is a comfortable one with this price paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jati P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank You for leaving us a good review/opinion about your stay. We appreciate your time and effort that you have put towards us for sharing your opinion. I see that you had some difficulties during first night of your stay with AC; however, we would have been able to solve AC issue first night of your stay if we knew about it. However, AC's in all of our rooms are installed in the back of the room, instead of next to the bed or under the window to minimize the noise from AC. However, i am glad to hear that our staff was able to solve your problem right away when you told them. We hope that we can make your stay into great experience next time when you are in Merced by staying with us again. We appreciate your business and time that you have invested towards us. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We do our research to find nice clean lodging without regard for brand. We want (1) clean rooms, (2) amenities, i.e. refrigerator, free internet, etc. (3) comfy beds (4) low cost. We were pleased to find all of these at the Sandpiper. Manny was very friendly and wanted more than anything to please his guests with customer service and clean rooms. The ice machine was out of service, so Manny gave us some from his kitchen. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascalhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving great review/opinion for us. I appreciate your time and effort that you put toward us to write a review. I am glad to hear that you search for lodging facilities in Merced and you decide to go with us. I am very glad to hear that we meet your expectation. In addition, yes we do try hard to keep our hotel clean as possible and maintain excellent price vs. quality ratio. Moreover, i am happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and you will stay with us when you are in our area. We appreciate your business and we were glad to have you. We hope your journey goes well ahead and hope to see you soon in the future. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

One of the best experience of hotel stay and services, it was as peaceful as anyone could ask for. The room service and the cleanliness overall eye catching. This is one of the place where you get more than you pay and expect. All my friends were happy regarding my decision of selecting this hotel. A place definitely should be visited once again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimz_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank You so much for taking a time and leaving us an excellent review/opinion for us. We are glad to hear that you and your friends enjoy staying with us and it was best experience for you. In addition, we are glad to hear that you found everything clean in our hotel room and service was excellent. Moreover, i am very happy that price vs. quality ratio came excellent for you. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Once again, thank you so much for your time and effort to leave us excellent review. We appreciate your business. Thank You !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a very pleasant time at this hotel. The room we received was very spacious, clean, and affordable. The pool was nice and relaxing, especially during the hot summer day. The staff was quite friendly and did well in informing us about the city and its prime locals, along with giving us discounts at many of the nearby restaurants. All in all had a wonderful time and we shall be staying again whenever we require rooms in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank You for your excellent review.opinion about us. I highly appreciate that you took your time and wrote us a review. We are glad to hear that you like our room or room that we assigned to you for your stay. In addition, we are glad to hear that you received discount at near by restaurants for staying with us and dining their. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Once again, Thank You for your time and effort to leave us a excellent review. We appreciate your business !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#9 of 14 in Merced
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1001 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5155 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing