We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay but not great experience”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed 2 nights over here. First night, I had a bad experience with AC having noise coming all over night. I asked to change room next day and it was done without any issues. The other room was clean and had a nice experience over there. Microwave and Refrig. made a easy stay here.it is a comfortable one with this price paid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jati P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank You for leaving us a good review/opinion about your stay. We appreciate your time and effort that you have put towards us for sharing your opinion. I see that you had some difficulties during first night of your stay with AC; however, we would have been able to solve AC issue first night of your stay if we knew about it. However, AC's in all of our rooms are installed in the back of the room, instead of next to the bed or under the window to minimize the noise from AC. However, i am glad to hear that our staff was able to solve your problem right away when you told them. We hope that we can make your stay into great experience next time when you are in Merced by staying with us again. We appreciate your business and time that you have invested towards us. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We do our research to find nice clean lodging without regard for brand. We want (1) clean rooms, (2) amenities, i.e. refrigerator, free internet, etc. (3) comfy beds (4) low cost. We were pleased to find all of these at the Sandpiper. Manny was very friendly and wanted more than anything to please his guests with customer service and clean rooms. The ice machine was out of service, so Manny gave us some from his kitchen. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rascalhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for leaving great review/opinion for us. I appreciate your time and effort that you put toward us to write a review. I am glad to hear that you search for lodging facilities in Merced and you decide to go with us. I am very glad to hear that we meet your expectation. In addition, yes we do try hard to keep our hotel clean as possible and maintain excellent price vs. quality ratio. Moreover, i am happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and you will stay with us when you are in our area. We appreciate your business and we were glad to have you. We hope your journey goes well ahead and hope to see you soon in the future. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

One of the best experience of hotel stay and services, it was as peaceful as anyone could ask for. The room service and the cleanliness overall eye catching. This is one of the place where you get more than you pay and expect. All my friends were happy regarding my decision of selecting this hotel. A place definitely should be visited once again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimz_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank You so much for taking a time and leaving us an excellent review/opinion for us. We are glad to hear that you and your friends enjoy staying with us and it was best experience for you. In addition, we are glad to hear that you found everything clean in our hotel room and service was excellent. Moreover, i am very happy that price vs. quality ratio came excellent for you. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Once again, thank you so much for your time and effort to leave us excellent review. We appreciate your business. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a very pleasant time at this hotel. The room we received was very spacious, clean, and affordable. The pool was nice and relaxing, especially during the hot summer day. The staff was quite friendly and did well in informing us about the city and its prime locals, along with giving us discounts at many of the nearby restaurants. All in all had a wonderful time and we shall be staying again whenever we require rooms in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank You for your excellent review.opinion about us. I highly appreciate that you took your time and wrote us a review. We are glad to hear that you like our room or room that we assigned to you for your stay. In addition, we are glad to hear that you received discount at near by restaurants for staying with us and dining their. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Once again, Thank You for your time and effort to leave us a excellent review. We appreciate your business !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a reservation for two nights at this hotel. The location is very good, near Yosemite but without abusive prices of this park.
We had a problem and after check-in we had to leave because we received a call from our country that we were forced to return home.
Despite having paid the entire stay, the hotel address so we only charge the first night and reintegrated the rest.
A hotel with good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel_ESP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank You for leaving us a review/opinion about your stay. We are glad to hear that our price vs. quality ratio was excellent for your stay and that is what we known for. However, since you made your reservation through 3rd party web site, we are entitle to charge the full amount if cancellation time is cut off. However, depending on the personal circumstance/situation we do make some judgments that benefits customers. In addition, this is not our policy to do all the time for all the future customers since it effects our inventory for that day at the hotel. Only few things that we carry at the hotel and its value, customer service, and cleanliness. We hope that everything is fine with you at back home that made you go back in emergency. Once again, thank you for your time and effort for leaving us a review. We hope to be better in future. If you are in our area or visiting Yosemite national park again in the future, we hope that sandpiper lodge comes up in your mind first. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked online for a 2 night stay using reviews to make my decision. When drove up to the Sandpiper I had concerns due to the age appearance. Don't let outward appearances fool you! This was a very clean and well maintained motel, nothing fancy and with the basic motel amenities makes this a good choice when visiting Yosemite. Breakfast was Continental at the front desk with no sit down. I only had two issues, one was the old outdated electrical wall outlets which did not have the ground plug for my laptop power cord (got one from the office) and the other was the traffic noise on highway 99 next door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

First of all, thank you for making a reservation with us for 2 nights. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate that you took some time and left us a great review. We hope that we see you soon in near future when you decide to go back to Yosemite National Park. Thank You so much for your time and effort that you have put toward us to write us great review. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The sandpiper lodge is not your newest motel but should by no means be ruled out based on that. I stayed here a couple nights last month and didn't bother to make a reservation ahead of time because I was planning on driving through the night but my back began to throb so I called it a night. Walked in and was greeted right away by the friendly gentleman at the front. He was very quick to accommodate me and I was asleep in no time. Just a few specifics.. the room was very clean, bed was comfy, shower had good water pressure. Overall a great choice for a quick recharge. Will definitely be my go to spot when I'm passing through again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank You so much for your excellent review/opinion about us and sandpiper Lodge- Merced. We are glad to hear that you really liked it here and enjoy your stay. We hope that we will see you soon when you stop by in Merced and if you need lodging facilities we will be your first option. We are glad that you stop at Sandpiper Lodge - Merced. We greatly appreciate your business and time that you have took towards us to write a wonderful review. Once again, Sandpiper Lodge- Merced, appreciate your business. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
1.9 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#10 of 14 in Merced
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1001 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5155 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: $62 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing