We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - Lovely People”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Lovely People”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

It was a pleasant stay. Staff here were so helpful and friendly especially front desk guy Manny. They willingly helped us to make stay pleasant and comfortable. I can say I am overall extremly happy with their service. Rooms equipped with basic amenties were nice, clean and very well maintianed. though not so fancy room but neat clean. Very nice looking pool. Not only that, location is too good. visited Yosemite Lakes, it was one of memorbale visit. Beautiful lake and scenery. It's very good deal around Merced area. Best Place to stay! Thank you once again to all staffs and will definately come again and Recommend to Others :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemans9706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review/opinion about us. Our staff is our greatest asset and we are glad to hear that we are continuing to please each and every customers by providing their needs and accommodations. We glad to hear that your trip to Merced was successful and pleasant during your visit. We hope that we hear something soon from you and we will get chance to see you soon in near future. Once again, thank you for recommending us to other . Thank You for your valuable time that you put towards us and gave us a excellent opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
33
52
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We got all we wanted with that reasonable price so what else can i say. The room was very clean and people was very helpful and nice. Sure will pick it again next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review/opinion about us. We glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and everything was perfect to you including price to quality ratio. We hope to see you soon in the future and hope your trip to Merced was memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Yosemite and enjoyed ourselves, the room and pool were super clean (priceless to me!) the room was comfortable and the staff were super nice and helpful. And all of this for a really reasonable price. We will be staying at sandpiper lodge anytime we come through the area!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank You so much for your excellent review/opinion about us. We glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and it was comfortable/memorable for you. Customer service is one of our main goal and strongest point at Sandpiper Lodge and we appreciate that you took your valuable time towards us by sharing your opinion. Hope to see you soon in the future and please call us whenever you would like to stay with us in the future. Once again, thank you and hope you had great time at Yosemite National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Manny was extremely friendly. He manages the front desk and works very hard to accommodate your wishes. The price was fair. Place was very clean and far enough off the highway which lessened the noise on the highway nearby.

Margie

Room Tip: Rooms in the center seem further off the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 263maggie263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving us a great review. We highly appreciate your time and effort that you took time to write us a review/feedback. Our goal is to satisfy each and every customer in any manner that possible for us to help them and make their stay comfortable and memorable. We are trying our best to maintain quality vs. price ratio very carefully so customer can be satisfy. We hope that we will see you soon during your next trip Yosemite National Park. Once again, Thank you for leaving us a great feedback !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I went to go visit my cousin at UC Merced and decided to try this place out.

I don't typically do yelp, but I was extremely satisfied with everything here. i might as well give it a shot.

The place is great! When it comes to hotels, all the small things count. From cable to the toilet paper! A nice little breakfast on the go, and a great pool for a nice exercise. Stayed for 3 days/2 nights and I was pleased of how the hotel handled their business. Thumbs up sandpiper!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank You so much Mr. Jerome V leaving us a excellent review. Sorry in delay for replying back to your review/feedback. We highly appreciate your time, effort, and business. Thank You so much for giving us and our management a thumbs up for everything. We hope to seen you soon in the future when you come visit your cousin at UC merced. We hope that spend your quality time with us again in the future. Thank You so much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Room was incredibly hot, even it was really cold outside in these september days. I tried to use the AC, but it was louder than in an airplane. A railroad is not far away and you hear it. At 4am, after many sleepless hours, i spoke with the indian guy with her mother at the front desk and wanted to know why the room was so hot and the AC so loud. With barely understandable english, they tried to thow me out at 4am in the morning after my complaints. I stayed nevertheless, without sleep. Before i leave, i found blood stains on the ceiling and towel was dirty. Never ever again with this crappy motel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank handspring3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperLodge, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
First of all, weather is hot in this area through out the whole day and on top of that if you turn on heater instaed of AC, its going to be very hot. Second, there is no blood stains on the celling, it's a paint. In addition, as far as i concern about not able to sleep in room, we offered customer a options of changing rooms; but did not wanted to change room, or manager checking the problem with AC (did not wanted us to come inside the room). Both of the options for us helping them out and making their stay comfortable were decling by customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The manager, Manny, is extremely kind and the motel is cheap--50/night--and on the way to Yosemite. I assume that is why most people stay there. The room, though clean, did have an outdated bathroom, oldish towels, and a loud air conditioner. However, the pool was relaxing. The ice machine was out of order at the time. After a long day doing Yosemite the Sandpiper was fine. There is little on the motel strip except motels and a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving us a great review and sorry for late reply back to your review/feedback about our hotel. yes, Manny is excellent worker and asset for our management as a front desk and customer relationship. Hope to see you soon in the future. thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1001 Motel Dr, Merced, CA 95341-5155 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing