We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip advisor does it again!”

Nagame Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 160 Restaurants in Merced
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Willows, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Trip advisor does it again!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I always rely in TA when traveling, but when we pulled in to the parking lot and saw this nondescript restaurant in the middle of nowhere, North of Merced, I thought TA had finally blown it. Wrong!! Nagame has first rate Japanese food and decent sashimi, served by a very friendly and genuine waitress, at a modest price.

We had a delightful dinner for three of their special combination plate, plus sashimi, and a large Sapporo for $70 plus tip. All in all a very pleasant dinner, served by very pleasant people. If we are ever in Merced again, we will definitely go to Nagame.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arcodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grandma's favorite”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This has been my grandma's favorite for many years so when she visits I like to take her and the food has always been spot on.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
1 review
“Most Consistent food anywhere.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Most consistent food ever always wonderful best Japanese food ever!!! Teriyaki Chicken is the best, and I've tried a lot all over the world.

Helpful?
Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love their tempura”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stop in often for veggie or shrimp tempura. They have wonderful food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim2848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Greatest Japanese food”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hours can be weird, but worth the minor inconvenience. Very popular with the locals.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagame Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nagame Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing