We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay on the way to Yosemite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay on the way to Yosemite!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My friend and I and our two preteen kids stayed in the HI Express Merced on our way to and from Yosemite National Park in June 2013. We chose this hotel due to the generally good online reviews, and we were not disappointed. In fact, we were extremely pleased with our choice. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was fresh, delicious, and offered many hot and cold choices for even the pickiest eaters. We used the pool and hot tub both nights of our stay - both very clean, free of debris, and with perfect temperatures. I interacted w/several different people working at the front desk at check in, getting pool towels, asking for directions to a dinner location, etc. All were extremely friendly and very helpful. Conveniently located too just off CA-99, with easy access back on to the freeway in either direction. The only "complaint" I have (not really a complaint, just more of an observation about the neighborhood) is that there aren't really a lot of good family places to eat within walking distance: a very pricey Italian restaurant, a dumpy looking Mexican restaurant, one or two fast food joints, and a drive thru Starbucks. There is a CVS pharmacy and a large supermarket a few blocks away, which is always handy to know. I would definitely stay there again if I find myself in the Merced area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaLGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide so many details about your stay with us! We certainly appreciate hearing how you enjoyed our breakfast selections, that your room was comfortable and that staff was helpful. While the restaurant options within walking distance aren't numerous, we are located 2 miles from the center of Merced's downtown area, which features over a dozen nice choices within four blocks. Let us recommend a great place to eat dinner next time; we don't want you to be disappointed with any part of your stay in Merced. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    183
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
211
103
18
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levis, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good hotel for a one night stay before or after Yosemite. Room was clean and comfortable.

Not much restaurants around the hotel and not sure the surroundings of the hotel are safe at night (strange city). We arrived late and left early so this was not very important for us.

Good pricing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Holiday Inn Express & Suites! We hope your trip to Yosemite National Park was fantastic!

While there are only two full-service restaurants within walking distance, there are also three fast food restaurants within two blocks. If you are fortunate enough to have private transportation during your stay, there are dozens of restaurants within two miles from the hotel; we are delighted to recommend something to suit your taste! Thank you again and we hope all your travels are safe and satisfying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having frequented Holiday Inn Express' I had certain expectations for this hotel especially being a newer property. Overall I was not disappointed. The building has a nice look, the lobby spacious and clean, the personnel helpful and check in smooth. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom as well. Everything was functional: climate control, LCD tv, Wifi...but no fridge or microwave which I found unusual. Another negative to me was the hassle with the shower head's position to get a good spray of water. But the important thing was the bed was comfortable and I had a great sleep.
There is a pantry there which is handy but I had to heat up my quick meal with the microwave in the breakfast area. Speaking of which the breakfast was fine with typical choices. The breakfast area was spacious and clean.
Overall I was pleased with my choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagger_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to provide such a great, lengthy review of your stay with Holiday Inn Express & Suites! We greatly appreciate it!

On May 31 we installed refrigerators and microwaves into each of our rooms; we are sorry that we did not have these in when you stayed. We have also recently instructed housekeeping to set our shower heads to the full spray setting; we hope these steps will improve your next stay with us, should you be in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located just off the 99 in Merced. It was close to the business I needed to attend. I was happy with the room. It was clean and being a Platinum Member I was upgraded to a suite. The bed was comfortable and the room had adequate lighting and work space. The only draw back was the shower head. I like a firm shower and this shower head was not good. If that is my only complaint, which it is I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Merced.

Room Tip: No special recommendations on room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Michael G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced! We apologize for the lackluster shower experience; our Kohler Smart Start shower heads feature three settings but they are not at all obvious. There is a metal tab hidden on the back of the shower head which twists the shower head. I investigated today and believe that the one you likely had was set on the low setting, which has very little pressure and may have had you standing directly underneath it just to get wet. The full spray setting is a completely different, fantastic experience! Again we apologize and will work better in the future at making sure the setting is left at full spray before you check in.

Thank you again for sharing, and we look forward to providing you with a great stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Clean well kept Hotel. It is conveniently located right off the 99-fwy about 35 minuts away from Yosemite & Sequoia national parks. There is a nice free breakfst served with eggs, bacon, breads cereal fruits, and a pancake machine. They have an outdoor pool & jacuzzi that is well kept. I like that like most Holiday Exp. it is open till 11pm. Though I did not use there is a nice excercize facility & laundry. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced. We are pleased that you found our breakfast choices to your liking! You must have been driving much faster than most to get to Yosemite in such a short time; in our experience it is about an hour and a half drive. We are hoping that you were enjoying the view so much on the way that you lost track of time! Thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stay quite frequently in Merced to visit my mother in a nursing home. Usually, we stay at the Marriott. This trip, the Marriott was full so we found Holiday Inn Express. I will say that one of the reviewers made a point that there is no refrigerator in the room. True. However, this place is quite a bit less expensive than the Marriott. It is just as clean and, really, quite close in amenities. My husband and I will stay here from now on. The money saved was about $40.00 per night. That's a lot in my book. Very clean and nice.

Room Tip: As with all those hotels on Motel Drive in Merced, it's a good idea to ask for a room as far awa...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovetotravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Holiday Inn Express & Suites experience! We are glad you found us, and we want to make sure your next stay is just as satisfying. We are excited to be adding refrigerators and microwaves in the very near future. Thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at HI EXPRESS Merced before our trip to Yosemite National Park. The location is good, there is a good Italian restaurant in a walking distance, the room was big and convenient. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide a convenient setting off point for your trip to the park. We hope you had a great breakfast with us before heading out, and got to spend some quality time seeing the sights of Yosemite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merced
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Address: 151 S Parsons Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Merced, CA located at the intersection of Highways 140, 59 and California Highway 99. We are just a short distance from Merced Municipal Airport (MCE), UC Merced, and Mercy Medical Center and Castle Air Museum. As the Gateway to Yosemite, Merced is 80 miles from the park. Merced offers a variety of entertaining outdoor activities such as hiking and bicycling, as well as water recreation at the many lakes in the area including Lake Yosemite & Don Pedro Lake. From the moment you drive up to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced you will feel welcomed by our fresh look and relaxing ambient music. Our responsive staff will help make you comfortable in one of our 91 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 19 suites. All rooms are equipped with deluxe new bedding and our Smart Bath Collection, as well as 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet. This newly built hotel also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and a large meeting room. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Merced
Holiday Inn Express Merced

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing