We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at HI EXPRESS Merced before our trip to Yosemite National Park. The location is good, there is a good Italian restaurant in a walking distance, the room was big and convenient. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide a convenient setting off point for your trip to the park. We hope you had a great breakfast with us before heading out, and got to spend some quality time seeing the sights of Yosemite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 537 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year and this past week I had made a mistake with my reservation for this weekend. The front desk person transferred me to the Manager's voicemail and I received a call back promptly. The Manager at this facility does a great job and was able to help me with my situation. I will continue to stay only at this hotel when in Merced. The facility is in great shape, the rooms are very clean and modern, and the staff is very attentive and friendly. Thanks again for another great experience with your hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGR1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites as a return guest! We appreciate your loyalty, and will continue to work to earn your return every stay. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. I'd like to first state that I read some reviews claiming this hotel doesn't have an elevator. This is 100% inaccurate information. This hotel has an elevator.

This is, however, the first Holiday Inn Express that I've stayed in that didn't have a fridge and/microwave in the standard room. We've stayed at HIE in other cities and just assumed that the fridge and microwave were standard in a standard room. Wrong. I asked if the hotel would possibly bring us a fridge, at least and I offered to pay more. The story I got was that all of the rooms with refrigerators were spoken for - but we could move into another (higher priced) room... if all of those rooms were spoken for, how could we move into one? The front desk clerk was incredibly helpful though and offered use of their fridge if needed. After some discussion we decided to stay put. I know it's not the hotel's fault that I didn't pay closer attention to the amenities section - but I think there should be consistency among all HIE locations. Clearly there isn't. I will certainly pay better attention next time.

We were put in an ADA room - which really only affected us in the bathroom. The bathtub had a very annoying (but useful if we were handicapped) bench seat that was held up by a poorly designed/functioning latch. The bathroom counter was less than half the length of standard counters in other hotels... I'm not sure if it's because of it being an ADA room or if this is the norm for HIE in Merced. But, it was a little frustrating for us. There wasn't enough room.

Yes, this hotel is in the vicinity of the Highway 99 and a residential apartment complex, but noise was a non-issue for us. Our room was on the Parsons side of the building. There was more noise from the ice machine and whatever machine ran in the room next to us than from the outside. Luckily, we only heard the noise while in the hallway. Once we were inside our room, we didn't hear it.

The breakfast was standard for HIE. Pancakes, omelets, cereal, fruit, pastries, yogurt, etc. Nothing really spectacular, but good enough to tide us over until lunch.

The staff is what made this a very good and not an average rating. Every time we walked through the lobby we were greeted with friendly smiles. They gave us directions and printed out maps when we needed. We also got a little bag of treats (bottle water and 2 snack bags) for being a member of the HIE loyalty program. That was certainly a nice touch. They even tried to find some batteries for me. Incredibly nice and helpful staff.

The HIE is not our primary choice for hotels. Unfortunately, our primary choice isn't in this area. So, since we'd stayed at other HIEs, we decided to go with a brand we knew. I personally don't think I'd stay at this HIE again simply because their "standard" room doesn't seem to align with standard rooms (with fridge and microwave) of other HIE locations. For the money, we could have stayed elsewhere and had a few more (standard) amenities.

Room Tip: Choose the Parsons side of the building. There is far less street traffic than freeway traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDivineMissM_89801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a complete review of our hotel! We are very thankful that you mentioned the service provided by our staff. We apologize for the confusion over refrigerators and microwaves; new ones will be installed in all standard rooms in a few weeks. Currently, just our suites feature refrigerators and microwaves. We move a few spares from one room to another to honor requests, but they are in high demand and not always available. We are looking forward to our upcoming installation in all rooms!

Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced, and we hope to provide you with an even better stay the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was in a room away from the freeway, but next to Parsons Ave., which was very noisey. There is an apartment complex across the street, so there is alot of street traffic with all the coming and going.

Other than that, the room was larger than I expected, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and consisted of a nice selection. I really liked the cinnamon rolls. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat04299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our hotel! While our windows are double-paned to help abate noise, we understand your concern and are happy to provide a room further from the road when requested. We are pleased that you enjoyed our signature cinnamon rolls!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We travel a lot with our pet and have found the Holiday Inn Expresses that DO take dogs are our favorite place to stay. This facility seemed brand new and was very modern. We used our free night and just had to pay for the pet fee of $25. Everything was clean and as expected. The front desk girl was nice and friendly. We will continue to stay at the Holiday Inn Expresses. I just wish more of them allowed pets!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We wish we could take credit for your fantastic review, but is there a chance you have us mistaken for another Holiday Inn Express & Suites? We love our pets, and our pet-owning guests, but when we opened four years ago guest preferences dictated that in addition to being a non-smoking hotel, we unfortunately do not allow pets. We apologize for not being able to accommodate the cuddliest members of the family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sleep is best away from the freeway, I used my CLC card here and it is one of the top values of any hotel I have ever used the card for. near Starbucks, McDonalds. We brought a large group of youth who were well behaved, but stayed up late, as youth like to do. These folks were always courteous and attentive.

Room Tip: sleep is best away from the freeway, used my CLC card here and it is one of the top values of any ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us! We too found the youth group to be very well behaved, and were pleased to have been able to provide the attention expected and deserved. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My sister, 92 yr old Dad, and I stayed at this hotel in Feb. 2013.I used trip advisor for ratings and it was above my expectations. It was beyond comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with 4 pillows on each bed..."I love that"...Clean, up to date decor, which was inviting had a natural feel. We stayed in a suite because it was only 15 dollars more. It had a nice couch that also was a sleeper. Coffee table,lighting and a very roomy feel . Breakfast was pretty good, more selection than I have ever had.
The only thing I did not like is when my sister called to make the reservation she spoke with someone other than someone from the actual hotel. We wanted to make sure that we were able to have a room on the bottom level, she said yes we can arrange that because they do not have elevators at that hotel..WHAT? Really? I thought that very uncommon, we arrived to be told we are on the third floor but of course we have elevators....So, I wasnt happy with the wrong information, although it all turned out wonderful......You should be able to talk to the hotel you will be residing in.So no confusion on the customers questions.The other very nice touch is a newspaper at your door in the morning. What a great way to start a day.... Highly recommend...... Mary- Red Bluff,Ca.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet_sugarmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXMerced, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Merced, and thank you a second time for taking the time to write about your experience! We are pleased that you found the breakfast selections plentiful, and that you enjoyed the extra room our suites provide. We apologize for the confusion created by the call to the offsite reservation center. We are working on determining why they were not aware of our two elevators. Please do feel free to call us directly any time for help or for reservations at 209.384.3700. We hope we can provide you with a second great stay the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merced
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
0.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Address: 151 S Parsons Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range: $108 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Merced, CA located at the intersection of Highways 140, 59 and California Highway 99. We are just a short distance from Merced Municipal Airport (MCE), UC Merced, and Mercy Medical Center and Castle Air Museum. As the Gateway to Yosemite, Merced is 80 miles from the park. Merced offers a variety of entertaining outdoor activities such as hiking and bicycling, as well as water recreation at the many lakes in the area including Lake Yosemite & Don Pedro Lake. From the moment you drive up to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced you will feel welcomed by our fresh look and relaxing ambient music. Our responsive staff will help make you comfortable in one of our 91 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 19 suites. All rooms are equipped with deluxe new bedding and our Smart Bath Collection, as well as 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet. This newly built hotel also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and a large meeting room. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Merced
Holiday Inn Express Merced

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing