We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop for Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stop for Yosemite”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Excellent position in order to catch YARTS bus to Yosemite..... But the staff here have made this stop off a joy. Really helpful, clean rooms, great breakfast and pool, no one can do enough for you. Stayed here at either end of Yosemite trip, great italian next door. Recommended

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    182
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
210
103
18
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed here one night before driving to Yosemite Park. Check-in was smooth and hassle-free. The room was clean and comfy. The free breakfast was pretty good. Free parking, free wifi in rooms. Nothing much happening around the hotel, but a 5-minute drive to large shopping malls and restaurants. All in all, good value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A., CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed in two suites, which were small but comfortable and adequate with king beds and sitting areas, full-sized fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Free self-serve breakfast with coffee, tea, juices, cereals, pancakes, danish pastries, biscuits and sausage is available. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. The location is about 90 minutes drive from Yosemite and ideal for exploring the entire area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hd91364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in Merced because of its location between San Francisco and Yosemite. It was 2 hours from San Francisco and 1 1/2 hours to Yosemite. The Hotel is very nice. The complimentary breakfast was more than expected. The only problem we had was when we were using the business center and made tour reservation that could only be printed once and the printer would not work. I went to the front desk and she said she has asked to get it fixed, but has not been done yet. I advised her she should put a sign on the printer letting others know that it is out of order. I had to redo our tour reservations and wait for a refund for the first request. The rooms are very roomy and clean. Noise was not an issue when sleeping. The wi-fi signal was not very good for our Ipad, so we used a wired computer. Would definetel use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynancyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Merced or the neighboring Hampton Inn. Both had great rates and since we frequently stay at Holiday Inn Express we opted for it.
Check-in person was helpful and knowledgable. Room was fine. Standard, clean, quiet, etc. I could not get connected to the free wifi and was too tired to spend the time working at it.
HOWEVER, next morning when we went for breakfast, it was chaos with about 30 people seated at the tables and another 30 standing around looking for food. They were out of food...at 8:45AM on a Sunday, including coffee and hot water for the one package of instant oatmeal that was available. Hostess was sweeping in the lobby and informed us that manager had gone for more food but since it was already 8:45AM, may not return before the scheduled 10AM closing of breakfast area.
In the meantime, we observed another staff member take a suitcase (concealed in large cardboard) to the trash area. The individual proceeded to empty the suitcase piece by piece, putting most contents in the trash area but some in their own pocket and finally throw the suitcase in the back of a pickup truck (presumably the employees). We tried to contact the manager as we thought this was extremely suspicious but even after 10AM when the manager had supposedly returned from "the food run", she could still not be located. We reported the incident to the competent front desk person who promised to follow up with the manager as we had to get back on the road. Although we left our cell phone number, no one ever followed up to clarify the situation or ask questions. All-in-all a very strange situation at this hotel. Normally I would recommend a Holiday Inn Express for a roadtrip but not this particular hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GrandFan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed overnight in Merced the night before our day at Yosemite. What a good decision! This hotel had great atmosphere. The rooms were clean and modern. This hotel is brand new and in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Held my daughter's baby shower at the Holiday Inn Express in Merced California on May 15, 2010. The party went off without a hitch thanks to the wonderfu staff and the customer service we received. Everyone from the front desk to the maintance staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotel was booked for the UC Merced graduation weekend and was very busy but every request we had was dealt with immediately and with a smile. I am definately a satisfied customer and woulod recommend the Holiday Inn Express to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazygoatlady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merced
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#7 of 14 in Merced
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Address: 151 S Parsons Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the new fresh look and feel of our Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Merced, CA located at the intersection of Highways 140, 59 and California Highway 99. We are just a short distance from Merced Municipal Airport (MCE), UC Merced, and Mercy Medical Center and Castle Air Museum. As the Gateway to Yosemite, Merced is 80 miles from the park. Merced offers a variety of entertaining outdoor activities such as hiking and bicycling, as well as water recreation at the many lakes in the area including Lake Yosemite & Don Pedro Lake. From the moment you drive up to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Merced you will feel welcomed by our fresh look and relaxing ambient music. Our responsive staff will help make you comfortable in one of our 91 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 19 suites. All rooms are equipped with deluxe new bedding and our Smart Bath Collection, as well as 32 flat panel televisions, and complimentary wired/wireless high-speed Internet. This newly built hotel also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and a large meeting room. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Merced
Holiday Inn Express Merced

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing