We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merced
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Merced B&B and Inns
Concord, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I am actually staying here right now, but I could not wait to write a review. The proprietor of this establishment, Jacqueline, is amazing. Great customer service and the breakfast with an omelet made from free range eggs that have been cared for by her husband, is amazing. Seriously, one of the best breakfasts ever! All I know is that next time I am in Merced, I am coming here. It was truly magnificent. The beds were perfect too, I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. Thank you Jacqueline for your hospitality and great b&b.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excaliburhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a great night's stay at Serenity Gardens B&B on our way from Yosemite to San Francisco. Jackie and Jerry were very friendly hosts and we had a lovely chat with them when we arrived in the early evening. Our room, the Alaskan, was very clean, comfortable and spacious and the ensuite was huge!! Breakfast was delicious the next morning and we loved spending some quality time with their two sweet dogs, Spot and Bonita. Jackie gave us a tour of their beautiful gardens, with all the trees in bloom and showed us their hens and some new chicks that had just arrived. Loved it!! Just wish we'd had more time to sit and soak in the serenity of the beautiful surroundings...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaChHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here on New Years Day for one night. Very clean, comfortable, spacious room, and the owner, Jackie, was super nice. She made us feel very welcome and served us a great vegan breakfast. We birded the next day at the Merced and San Luis Wildlife Refuges, which are close by. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Serenity Gardens was a great find in many ways! Jackie, Serenity's proprietor was very welcoming and her home warm, comfortable, clean and spacious. It was also as the title implies- very serene! The breakfast was delicious and we appreciated that Jackie accommodated our vegan diets. Jackie and her husband Jerry are motorcyclists and they welcome other bikers in addition to nature lovers. The Merced National Wildlife Refuge, which has thousands of birds is just a short drive away. We enjoyed talking to Jackie about the species that we saw. If only we had had more time to stay another night!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla15946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thankfully I also decided last minute to look for a bed and breakfast, which is the same price as a hotel... but oh, so much more charm and hospitality..... I'll never stay at a hotel again, especially after staying at Serenity Gardens!

Staying at a b & b here is like staying your favorite lovely auntie .... So fortunate there was a last minute cancelation! So warm and relaxed here....A very PERSONal touch. What a heart the two of these people have! They have already offered to help me get settled in Merced if I do get this job (fingers crossed).

Surprised that a credit card wasn't demanded when I booked, and - should I say this - when I thought I would be arriving when Jackie was gone, she said she'd leave a key for me!

So much care .... we sat down as Jackie asked me what I wanted for breakfast, and what time... How do I want my eggs (freshly laid)? What type of meat would I like with that? sausage, bacon or canadian sausage? Pancakes, waffles or toast? Coffee upstairs while dressing?

Had a list of restaurants to try .... I said I needed to buy thank you cards, and she suggested a place to go for that too.

Jacuzzi tub.... internet.... sweetie pie dog Spot....really is perfect, and oh so nice to be so pampered!

Room Tip: I picked the Alaska suite... it's not that much more, but I wanted that big jacuzzi tub! I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Jackie is such a lovely, warm hostess. She looked after our every need. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed sitting in her garden under the trees. She spoiled us by giving us an early morning coffee on the balcony, followed by a home cooked breakfast on the terrace and catered for my gluten-free dietary needs. We had a very comfortable night's sleep which set us up for the journey ahead to Yosemite. We really enjoyed our stay.
Viv & Peter

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterB055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was very excited for my first B&B experience, my husband was not so much. We were in Merced visiting my son who attends UCMerced. Well, Jackie and Jerry won him over with their hospitality, beautiful home, and overall "make you feel at home" vibe. Jackie is the perfect host. She is an amazing cook and very welcoming innkeeper. Jerry is a cool guy with an easy going spirit. We loved just sitting and talking to them while relaxing. If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay in Merced, Serenity Gardens is it. We will definitely be visiting again. Oh, and loved spending time with Spot and Bonita and the chickens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snackie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
1.5 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
3.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2649 Reggio Ct, Merced, CA 95340-9686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast provides affordable lodging in a serene country setting. It is located in Merced, California, the Gateway to Yosemite. A complete breakfast is included in the room rate. All rooms have private baths and access to beautiful gardens. Only Tranquility Cottage has a kitchenette with microwave and small refrigerator. Access to the private hot tub is available only to couples staying in the cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing