We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aptly named B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merced
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Merced B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aptly named B&B”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We certainly found it a most peaceful place to stay. We stayed for 2 nights and went to Yosemite for the day in between, by YARTS bus, which worked well. Our conclusion: an awesome house, awesome place, awesome company. We rate it 10/10!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
46
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We needed a place to stay in Merced as we planned a short one day trip to Yosemite Valley. Jackie and Jerry were fantastic hosts for a two night stay. Both are easy to talk to and it is a delight visiting with them. The Alaska Room is very spacious, the property is lovely, the breakfasts delightful. Wondeful place and wonderful hosts add up to a wonderful stay. If you are in the area -- grab this place. Thanks Jackie and Jerry for a great time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We drove up from Southern California and stopped in Merced to catch the YARTS bus into Yosemite during the winter season. I reserved the Alaska room at Serenity Garden because the reviews were so good. I was hopeful it would be a pleasant stay and I was not disappointed. When I called the owner Jackie to make reservations I instantly felt like I was talking to a dear friend. Her home is in a lovely neighborhood of large homes with nice lawns. There is a fairytale look to the property with a turret, weeping willow trees, and a large garden. Inside it’s casual and comfortable. There’s a small fridge full of sodas and waters for guests. Jackie asked us what time we’d like to have breakfast and offered us food choices such as, “Bacon or sausage?” and “How would you like your eggs cooked?” I’d already let her know I had to eat gluten free so she was ready with a gluten free breakfast for me. My husband, whose diet is not restrictive had waffles one day and fried potatoes with toast the next. Both of us had fruit along with fresh eggs from Jackie’s hens that live out back. Breakfast was elegantly served on china with silver and crystal. Jackie shared her homemade pomegranate jam with us and gave us a choice from a variety of juices. We do not drink coffee or tea, but that was also offered. Our room was upstairs. We found the queen bed comfortable, the sunken jacuzzi tub relaxing and the fresh daffodils in a vase charming. We enjoyed the wifi and Direct TV. There’s also a separate shower, two sinks and a large counter area. I felt like owners Jackie and Jerry were there for us and would have done anything they could to make us comfortable. Both were interesting people and fun to talk to, but they allow guests to have as much privacy and alone time as they want. They gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants. One night we went to Los Panchos, an authentic Mexican restaurant, and the second night to Paul’s, a family owned coffee shop style restaurant, where my husband enjoyed a chicken fried steak. We stayed at the B&B the night before we went into Yosemite to stay at the Ahwahnee and stayed another night on our way out of the park before heading back home. We were pleased with our decision to do this as it added a nice couple of days of relaxation to our vacation. I would recommend Serenity Gardens to my friends and family. So much cozier than a hotel and it has to be one of the nicest places to stay in the area.Their two large dogs Bonita and Spot are very well trained and lovable, but I have a special bond with Lavern, a pretty hen who seemed to like it when I picked her up and carried her around. I'm not sure if Lavern's friend Shirley, another hen, likes to be cuddled. Many of Jackie's guests are repeat customers, which I can understand, as I plan to go back as soon as I can.

Room Tip: The upstairs Alaska room is bigger than the downstairs Yosemite room. Both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyPinkPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was in Merced for a meeting and decided to try Serenity Gardens for the great reviews I read online. My stay exceeded all of my expectations. I travel a lot and try to choose places that are quiet and and private. Serenity Gardens was absolutely perfect. My stay felt like a retreat with friends in a beautiful setting. I spent early mornings writing while sipping coffee (luxuriously delivered to my door), and I took runs in the neighborhood and on the lovely walking/cycling path nearby. The room and bathroom is so spacious that it felt like a private chamber. Breakfast was always delicious and Jackie and Jerry are so kind and interesting that I found myself hoping I'd catch them for a chat. I felt so comfortable and relaxed in the house and on the grounds, and the delightful animals add to the easy feeling there. I will return just to see Jackie and Jerry again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

stayed for 5 days and loved it...Jackie is a wonderful host , her house is beautiful and the grounds are very restive. Breakfast was over the top. Why anyone would stay in a hotel in Merced when this place is available is beyond me!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I planned a two night trip to Merced to visit my boyfriend and decided a b&b might be a fun thing to do. I had lived in Merced for seven years prior during so I am quite familiar with the area. Serenity gardens is a rather large, beautiful home nestled right off of McKee on a quiet residential cul-de-sac. My train arrived at 1 into town (and jacky even offered to pick me up!) and we headed over to serenity. From the get go, jacky was a warm host. I felt comfortable immediately.

We booked the Alaskan, the larger bedroom on the second floor. The room had everything we needed. The most notable amenities were the large standing shower (plenty of room for two), the jacuzzi tub (the bathroom itself was gigantic), the easy access to the second floor balcony, the large flat screen (it was Election Day after all), and the beautifully maintained gardens that enshroud the main house.

Finally Jacky's breakfasts sealed the deal. Breakfast each morning was nothing short of a feast, complete with homemade pomegranate jam, breads and other baked goods, fresh fruit and berries as well as pretty much any side dish you could think of for breakfast. Sumptuous is the word I'm looking for.

All in all, my stay here at serenity gardens has truly made my trip to Merced something special. There is a warmth in this house that comes from hosts who truly care about the quality of their hospitality. If you are going to Merced for business or pleasure, do yourself a favor and get a little bang for your buck. It will be the only place I stay when I am here.

Room Tip: Stay in the Alaskan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whenever you are in Merced, do yourself a favor and stay with Jackie and Jerry at Serenity Gardens.

I have travelled extensively and, throughout the years, have never encountered a more welcoming and friendly place. Jackie's breakfast is divine, changes daily, and takes your personal preferences or dietary needs into consideration. She even made me an apple pie one day, and that was in the afternoon.

There are only 5 stars on Tripadvisor, but they deserve more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTraveller1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merced hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
440 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
3.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2649 Reggio Ct, Merced, CA 95340-9686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Gardens Bed and Breakfast provides affordable lodging in a serene country setting. It is located in Merced, California, the Gateway to Yosemite. A complete breakfast is included in the room rate. All rooms have private baths and access to beautiful gardens. Only Tranquility Cottage has a kitchenette with microwave and small refrigerator. Access to the private hot tub is available only to couples staying in the cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing