We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Riviera
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gross hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I travel a lot for work. This hotel by far is the worst I've stayed in. It's dirty and smelly. The carpet is terribly stained. It's very dated. The room is poorly laid out. The bathroom is just old and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firecrackerleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Firecrackerleo,

I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please know that I have addressed the issues you mentioned in your review to my team and we have worked to resolve them. We are also planning a complete bathroom renovation on all of our rooms beginning in August. We pride ourselves in providing superior customer service and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide it to you.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    31
    10
    12
See reviews for
50
15
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is nice, clean, with a kind staff. Some rooms have a charming table in the front balconet. A true breakfast is included, and you can have it on the reception or take away to the room or balconet. Unfortunately I didn't got time to enjoy the swimming pool, that looks refreshing and amazing. It is at walking distance from Stanford Shopping Center, Downtown Palo Alto and Menlo Park, so if you plan to visit the Stanford University or somewhere else in Palo alto, that's a valuable hotel to choose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brazillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Brazilian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you're in the Menlo Park area. Maybe next time you'll have some time to swim in our refreshing pool or unwind in our spa!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was here on business, so I while I was shocked at the 250/night price tag... I wasn't paying.

The staff was friendly, the breakfast nook was well stocked. My room was cleaned (well) daily. Soaps/coffees etc were replaced even when I didn't require it, which I always appreciate but rarely see.

The pool area was nice, as were the in-room amenities.

The tv remotes don't tend to function properly (this is apparently a known issue with model of television). You do get noise from the street at night. Parking spaces are tight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Jen M,

Thanks for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your experience at our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you visit the Menlo Park area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've just spent four nights at the Best Western Plus Riviera. It's convenient for Palo Alto, the rooms are big and clean, the breakfast is quite decent, and the staff are nice. There is a small pool, but I haven't used it so can't comment. Looks clean, though!
The hotel is right next to a major road, so it does get loud. I was in room 219, right next to El Camino, and had to sleep with earplugs. To be fair, this is not their fault. The hotel is right next to the road, and if you booked a room here, expect noise to be a problem.
My only issue is with the internet. It is free, but the service is patchy. It gets disconnected often, so make sure you save your emails (or tripadvisor reviews....) because chances are it will get cut off. Other than that, would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catalan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello catalan_traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your comments and feedback. Unfortunately the road noise can be an issue for some of our guests, we're glad to know that the ear plugs worked out for you. I will also be looking into the signal strength in the wing of the building you were in, thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you're in the area and maybe then you'll be able to leave us a review of our pool as well!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If noise is a problem for you, you will not want to stay at Best Western Plus Riviera. It appears to be charming and the location is good. It is clean. The WiFi is good and breakfast is OK. However, given any other choices and there are many in the area, I would not stay here again. The over riding problem is the street noise, cars get to be sort of OK, and then the trucks but the piercing train whistle at 2:00 am was over the top. Other annoyances included a room key that would not open the door, very small room, tepid water that did not really get hot and a staff that was not really accommodating.

Room Tip: The only rooms that might possibly be acceptable would be on the first floor behind the reception ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello Barb K,

Thanks for taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay with us. Unfortunately we are unable to do anything about the street noise, although we do offer complimentary ear plugs at the front desk for those who are sensitive to noise. I can also assure you that we do take pride in our establishment and deeply care about all guest experiences while here at our hotel. I am sorry that you felt our staff was unaccomodating. I will be talking with my front desk staff about ways we can provide better service to all guests.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Menlo Park hotels

Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I travel to the Bay Area frequently from Australia and have stayed at most of the reasonably priced hotels in the area. Not sure if the Best Western has changed somehow but I had a very fine stay. Room was clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. I was on the second floor and the sound proofing was good (from the Highway). It is very convenient to Sandhill Rd and the Stanford Mall (as well as University Av). Fitness centre is nothing great, but just covers my needs with a treadmill, bike and elliptical trainer. Breakfast was first rate of the "free breakfast" type. It gets 5 stars from me not because it is a great hotel but because it is great value for money. There is no hotel within 5 miles of it that is better value to be honest that I have found. Comfortable, clean, pretty quiet and spacious with a good breakfast. Works for me and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredBarakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello FredBarakat,

Thank you for taking the time to tell other Trip advisor users about your stay with us! We are glad you found our accomodations to be comfortable and clean. I will be sure to pass your comments along to my team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you stay with us next time you are in th area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The door hand to be SLAMMED using my full body weight to latch,

the bed fell 2 inches on one side when my 110 pound wife got in bed,

The floor turned our feet black,

Our baby found a human tooth (not one of ours)in the bed in the morning,

Parking is awful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear jasonakana,

We're sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. I can assure you that we take all comments and complaints seriously and that I have personaly looked into the items you listed in your review. We have spoken to our housekeeper regarding your comments. Our sheets are serviced by a linen company and our housekeeper had no idea on how a tooth could be on a bed. Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#3 of 10 in Menlo Park
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 10 in Menlo Park
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Riviera

Property: Best Western Plus Riviera
Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Riviera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing