We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My organization sends me to Stanford a few times each year. I have stayed at several of the small hotels in the area. I have to say this was one of the better choices. It is a very convenient location...an easy block walk to the Stanford Shopping center with many high end shops and great places to eat. Very close to Stanford Hospital. Only 7-8 blocks from downtown Palo Alto with many more shops and eateries.

Extremely helpful staff. Nice breakfast included -- coffees, juices, hard boiled eggs, pastries, toast, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fruit, etc. Coffee and fruit available all day. Good WiFi in rooms. Rooms were very well appointed with comfortable beds, desk, table and chairs, small fridge, microwave, coffee maker with real ceramic mugs. Everything was spotless. A small pool on the property was a nice place to sit in the sun. No landscape to speak of.

I did not find street noise to be a problem. My room faced the street and with the windows closed and the fan on, I couldn't hear any street noise. If the windows were open, it would be a little different, but not that bad. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is "U" shaped, stay away from rooms on the extreme ends that are closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyRedMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Queeneee, thank you so much for taking the time to tell Trip Advisor users about your stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed your room and amenities. We're taking additional steps and making more upgrades in the near future to make your stay more enjoyable. We'd love to have you with us again next time you travel to the area.

Thanks again for you comments!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    27
    10
    11
See reviews for
41
13
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here for a post op visit at Stanford. Parking is included and a dinky continental breakfast. We were on the 2nd floor and there was a huge gap under our door. I had to put my duffel bag in front of it to block the light, but also to keep potential critters out. I liked that the remote control was in a little bag saying it had been sanitized. There was a lot of street noise throughout the night. The wifi worked, flat screen tv, bottled water, all nice touches. I was given a small Stanford hospital discount. It is just ok in my opinion.

Room Tip: a room in the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3kids2kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
3kids2kauai, we appreciate you taking the time to tell other Trip Advisor users about your stay with us. Please know I will be sure to address the issue you mentioned about the gap at the bottom of the door in your room and get it taken care of. We thrive off of comments and constructive criticism from Trip Advisor users like you and take your comments to heart in order to improve our hotel.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to have you with us again next time you take a trip to the area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We've had to visit Stanford and Lucile Packard Hospitals several times in the past five years and have stayed at most of the motels along El Camino Real in Palo Alto and Menlo Park. Best Western Plus Riviera is our choice to stay if we have a little extra money to spend or during slow periods.

BW Plus Riviera offers rooms that are a little larger then other 2-3 star motels nearby. The rooms are clean and everything works. The beds are comfortable. Each room has a large flat screen TV, a microwave and a dorm room sized fridge. Bottled water is provided. Their WiFi works at a reasonable speed. Their breakfast bar is better than most 2-star motels in the area, with a make-your-own waffle station and hard boiled eggs added. I'd compare it to a Fairfield Inn.

Cons -- rooms face the street and Cal Train commuter train line, so you will get some noise. Trains stop running late night, so that's not too bad. And, frankly, most motels in the area suffer the same problem. Also, parking under the rooms is tight, so it can be difficult to get in and out.

We did have one problem at the front desk when a BW Travel Certificate was not credited to our account properly. But this was taken care of shortly after we checked out and we received a followup phone call to let us know.

The best attribute for the BW Plus Riviera is it's location. If you've got an early morning start at Stanford or Lucile Packard Hospital, this is the motel you want. (Also, ask about their special hospital stay rates.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randylee3_Fresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Lee,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review about your stay in December. Our staff always loves to hear feedback and comments from guests, which help us improve and grow our levels of service. We regret that the noise from CalTrain and El Camino affected your stay and although there is not much we can do to quiet the noise we do offer complimentary ear plugs at the Front Desk for all of our guests upon request.

Thank you again for choosing the Best Western PLUS Riviera. We hope to have you with us the next time you visit the area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

the staff is very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here weekly for over 2 years, and have watched as they have constantly improved their motel. They've recently put in all new furniture in the rooms. Their most recent addition has been to add new large flat screen tv sets. After a long work day in Palo Alto, I find it a great place to relax and ready myself for another work day. I'd highly suggest this motel for anyone looking for a place to stay in the Menlo Park / Palo Alto area.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
JoeB, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.com! Thanks for the positive feedback, we're glad to hear you're enjoying our new flat screen televisions and furniture. We're taking additional steps and making more upgrades in the near future to maintain the standards you've come to expect from Best Western and to keep you coming back! Thanks again for your time, we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I had a business meeting in downtown Palo Alto, and all of the city center hotels were priced WAY high. So after looking a little, I came across the Best Western Plus Riviera. This was a clean, conservative, simple and nice hotel. The front desk staff was very pleasant. I had hoped for an early check-in (since I had just flew into San Jose and wanted to change), but they didn't have any rooms available at 11am. They did store my bag, which was nice. The room is simple and neat. Nothing special, but no issues either. The bathroom has a fan, which is always a plus for keeping shower steam reasonable. The walk into the city center takes about 10-15 minutes, is a nice stroll, and didn't bother me at all. It did take a little while for the cab to arrive to pick me up, so call ahead!

Room Tip: Honestly, I think they're all the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremymmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be a good value. Our staff tries hard to maintain our guest rooms in top order and are glad they met your standards. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Check in good - manager was v. nice and helpful. Ice machine was broken but he went next door and got ice for us and also discounted our room rate. Our room was a front corner room and very small but clean with adequate amenities. The bathroom was small but clean. The bed was comfortable with good pillows. AC was noisy. We were concerned about being on the front with traffic and were told that it was rush hour and that it would die down. Traffic was pretty constant throughout the night and really picked up about 5:00A. The complimentary breakfast was very good. We had the waffles. There are two levels to this hotel but a luggage cart was provided. The elevator is very small hardly big enough for the cart and one person. All in all this was an good place to stay for one night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not so close to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotravelersAikenSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com for our hotel! We thrive on all feedback and use it to try and improve. Let me assure you that since your stay we've replaced our ice machine with a brand new unit and also fixed the air conditioning unit you mentioned to us. Thanks again for your feedback and time. We hope to have you back with us on your next visit into the area!

Sincerely,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a pleasant place at a good price for the area. A short drive (or not terribly long walk) to the Stanford campus, and an easy walk to downtown Palo Alto.

My only suggestions would be to ask for a room away from the street on the second floor. Mine was close to the street and the noise is fairly significant, and I heard the person above me walking around.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank illin0isguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera
Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing