We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pick for Stanford Hospital Visits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Riviera
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Pick for Stanford Hospital Visits”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We've had to visit Stanford and Lucile Packard Hospitals several times in the past five years and have stayed at most of the motels along El Camino Real in Palo Alto and Menlo Park. Best Western Plus Riviera is our choice to stay if we have a little extra money to spend or during slow periods.

BW Plus Riviera offers rooms that are a little larger then other 2-3 star motels nearby. The rooms are clean and everything works. The beds are comfortable. Each room has a large flat screen TV, a microwave and a dorm room sized fridge. Bottled water is provided. Their WiFi works at a reasonable speed. Their breakfast bar is better than most 2-star motels in the area, with a make-your-own waffle station and hard boiled eggs added. I'd compare it to a Fairfield Inn.

Cons -- rooms face the street and Cal Train commuter train line, so you will get some noise. Trains stop running late night, so that's not too bad. And, frankly, most motels in the area suffer the same problem. Also, parking under the rooms is tight, so it can be difficult to get in and out.

We did have one problem at the front desk when a BW Travel Certificate was not credited to our account properly. But this was taken care of shortly after we checked out and we received a followup phone call to let us know.

The best attribute for the BW Plus Riviera is it's location. If you've got an early morning start at Stanford or Lucile Packard Hospital, this is the motel you want. (Also, ask about their special hospital stay rates.)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randylee3_Fresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Lee,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review about your stay in December. Our staff always loves to hear feedback and comments from guests, which help us improve and grow our levels of service. We regret that the noise from CalTrain and El Camino affected your stay and although there is not much we can do to quiet the noise we do offer complimentary ear plugs at the Front Desk for all of our guests upon request.

Thank you again for choosing the Best Western PLUS Riviera. We hope to have you with us the next time you visit the area.

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    31
    10
    12
See reviews for
50
15
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

the staff is very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here weekly for over 2 years, and have watched as they have constantly improved their motel. They've recently put in all new furniture in the rooms. Their most recent addition has been to add new large flat screen tv sets. After a long work day in Palo Alto, I find it a great place to relax and ready myself for another work day. I'd highly suggest this motel for anyone looking for a place to stay in the Menlo Park / Palo Alto area.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
JoeB, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.com! Thanks for the positive feedback, we're glad to hear you're enjoying our new flat screen televisions and furniture. We're taking additional steps and making more upgrades in the near future to maintain the standards you've come to expect from Best Western and to keep you coming back! Thanks again for your time, we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I had a business meeting in downtown Palo Alto, and all of the city center hotels were priced WAY high. So after looking a little, I came across the Best Western Plus Riviera. This was a clean, conservative, simple and nice hotel. The front desk staff was very pleasant. I had hoped for an early check-in (since I had just flew into San Jose and wanted to change), but they didn't have any rooms available at 11am. They did store my bag, which was nice. The room is simple and neat. Nothing special, but no issues either. The bathroom has a fan, which is always a plus for keeping shower steam reasonable. The walk into the city center takes about 10-15 minutes, is a nice stroll, and didn't bother me at all. It did take a little while for the cab to arrive to pick me up, so call ahead!

Room Tip: Honestly, I think they're all the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremymmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be a good value. Our staff tries hard to maintain our guest rooms in top order and are glad they met your standards. We hope to have you stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Check in good - manager was v. nice and helpful. Ice machine was broken but he went next door and got ice for us and also discounted our room rate. Our room was a front corner room and very small but clean with adequate amenities. The bathroom was small but clean. The bed was comfortable with good pillows. AC was noisy. We were concerned about being on the front with traffic and were told that it was rush hour and that it would die down. Traffic was pretty constant throughout the night and really picked up about 5:00A. The complimentary breakfast was very good. We had the waffles. There are two levels to this hotel but a luggage cart was provided. The elevator is very small hardly big enough for the cart and one person. All in all this was an good place to stay for one night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not so close to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotravelersAikenSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com for our hotel! We thrive on all feedback and use it to try and improve. Let me assure you that since your stay we've replaced our ice machine with a brand new unit and also fixed the air conditioning unit you mentioned to us. Thanks again for your feedback and time. We hope to have you back with us on your next visit into the area!

Sincerely,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a pleasant place at a good price for the area. A short drive (or not terribly long walk) to the Stanford campus, and an easy walk to downtown Palo Alto.

My only suggestions would be to ask for a room away from the street on the second floor. Mine was close to the street and the noise is fairly significant, and I heard the person above me walking around.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank illin0isguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night after attending a late-starting Stanford football game. The hotel is located just a few blocks north of campus on the main four-lane street in the area. It is also right next to the upscale Stanford Shopping Center. The desk clerk gave us Rm. 107 which was located behind the office and nicely blocked street noise. We were pleasantly surprised with the motel since there are many in the area and most are uninspiring. The two-story motel has king and queen rooms which are well-maintained and a bit above average in decor. The two levels of rooms are above the underground parking area. The walkway which overhangs the parking area has a small curve in the railing in front of each room which contains a little bistro table and two chairs with a potted geranium hanging between each table. IT's a nice touch. There is also a small pool, sauna and hot tub which we did not investigate. Our room contained a microwave and refrigerator as well as a work desk with adjustable chair and two easy chairs. The bathroom had a window over hte tub which enabled us to get fresh air when we opened the front window as well. The bed was very comfortable and had a duvet instead of the usual dubious blanket. The lobby is small but functional with the usual free breakfast of boxed cold cereals, juices, coffee, toast and pastry as well as make-your-own waffles. The desk clerks were both very friendly and helpful. While our room was very quiet (the hotel was far from full), I'd avoid booking the king suite which adjoined the office area and was less than 20 feet from the busy roadway. Overall, we'll book this hotel again if we attend another late game.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. We here at the Best Western Riviera are glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We thrive on feedback and are glad to know we've met the standards you've come to expect from Best Western. We hope to see you again if you're ever back in the area, especially now that Stanford Football season is back in full swing!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed 2 nights on the Memorial Day weekend; the room rate was very reasonable. The hotel is located right on the border with Palo Alto. It's about a 6 block walk to downtown Menlo Park & a short drive to downtown Palo Alto & Stanford. The Stanford Shopping Center is about 1/2 block away. Our room was very clean. There was a long vanity counter, which was nice. There was a microwave & refrigerator. The beds were quite hard. The fan in the bathroom was super loud; fortunately, there was a window in the bathroom so you didn't have to turn on the light every time you went into the bathroom. Parking is covered but it is not underground parking - the photo shows the parking situation. There is a TINY elevator - we chose to use the stairs. The wifi worked fine for us & there is a computer in the lobby that can be used by guests. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Riviera, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to document your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We love to read comments and work hard to improve our hotel based on what our customers experience. I will be working closely with maintenance to look into any issues with bathroom fans that we have through out the hotel. Thanks again for your comments!

Best Regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.0 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 10 in Menlo Park
141 reviews
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 10 in Menlo Park
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Riviera

Property: Best Western Plus Riviera
Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Riviera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing