We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanford Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Welcoming Hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I spent two wonderful days at the hotel. The room was spacious and very comfortable, and the staff was extremely courteous, friendly, and unpretentious. The restaurant provided lovely breakfasts at prices I felt were reasonable. I certainly enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my ground floor room looking into the courtyard. These rooms are quieter, I think, than th...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel should provide a separate wastebasket for recyclables. They do, however, use enviro-friendly showerheads, and encourage reusing towels.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    143
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
231
146
72
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I wish I knew about the Stanford Park long ago. I visit family in the bay area frequently and my brother suggested this hotel. Our flight arrived late at night but the staff was upbeat and enthusiastic when we pulled up. Our room was fabulous and the bed so comfortable we fell asleep quickly. We were on east coast time but were fully adjusted when we awoke. The Menlo Grill at the hotel is excellent and convenient. Shopping and restaurants are a pleasant walk north or south on El Camino. And the fresh cookies at bedtime were a lovely touch.

Room Tip: I heard that the back of the hotel has train noise. But we never heard it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in a spacious room facing El Camino. With the double windows we did not hear road traffic. The room was equipped with everything we needed and more. Beds were comfy, internet worked fine. Hotel is clean and staff very friendly.
The only complaint was that they are renovating the hotel and the hammering started at 9:00am which was too early.
The restaurant is a little pricey but has good food. Will stay again after renovation is complete.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowmellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Mellow,

Thank you for spending the holidays with us! It is good to hear you found the hotel comfortable and with all the amenities you enjoy. I am sorry you heard some hammering during your visit but I promise it will be well worth it when our renovation is complete. Our guestrooms will boast more comfort and luxury than ever before. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you on your return and hearing how you like the result.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We only stayed at Stanford Park one night. Wish we could have stayed a week. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large with a fireplace. The fireplace was very welcome because it was a chilly night. Great shower. The bed was very comfortable, as were the chairs with foot stools. The only meal we had was breakfast and it was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stay at the Stanford Park Hotel almost every year during Thanksgiving weekend when we are in Palo Alto enjoying the holiday with family. The hotel is well located with close proximity to great restaurants, shopping and the Stanford University campus. It is a gracious property with many amenities -- complimentary wine at 5:00 p.m. and delicious cookies at 9:00 p.m.

The lobby area and bar are inviting. We enjoyed drinks by the fire after dinner. We didn't have a chance to eat at the Menlo Grill (the hotel restaurant) this time, but we hear it's very good. We did make time to use the fitness room, which is extremely pleasant. I am always amazed that many nice hotels have inadequate fitness centers, which is happlily not the case at the Stanford Park. The gym equipment appears to be new and well maintained, and the room has lots of windows.

As a general matter, I tend to prefer more contemporary boutique hotels but this property is so nice that its more traditional feel is very appealing and welcoming. The rooms are nice and spacious, and we slept very well (a key priority for me when I travel).

The staff is accommodating and professional from the bellman to the GM. John Bunting, the front desk manager, was extraordinarily helpful and responsive regarding a follow-up matter after our stay.

We look forward to our next visit back to the Stanford Park!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineKael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very expensive since all the bay area was book solid so I ended paying $700 us a night!! Room was comfortable and spacious. Shower broke and the fixed it promptly. Beds are good. Staff is nice. Internet acces is good. Breajfast could use a couple of healthy options. All the decor is vintage it kind of reminded me the movie The shinning... redrum :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank calvarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Calvarius,
Thank you for visiting the Stanford Park Hotel. We want to let you know we began our renovation project of all the guest rooms on Dec 13, 2013 with expected completion in March 2014. In addition to the guest rooms we have renovations planned for several of the public spaces as well. Our next projects will include the bar, lobby, lobby restrooms, reception and the most exciting will be the new fire pits in the garden courtyard. We hope you will visit us again and let us know how you like the new furnishings and design.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The second you pull up to the main entrance, your experience truly begins. From a very professional and cordial staff to the housekeepers and wait staff- everyone is there to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. We had a few specific requests at dinner....and they were met without a blink of an eye. After we left, we soon realized my son had left his swim trunks in the room. Before we knew it the item was getting ready to be shipped to our home in Boulder! You won't be disappointed and I am willing to bet you will be a repeat customer! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Definitely take advantage of the cookies and coffee at 9 pm in the lobby!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
134 reviews
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Property: Stanford Park Hotel
Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing