We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Amenities, Wonderful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanford Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Amenities, Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My parents stayed here when they were visiting Menlo Park/Palo Alto. It's a beautiful hotel that serves delicious homemade cookies every evening in the lobby along with coffee and tea. Beautiful courtyard, pool area, and restaurant/bar. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaMB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    122
    31
    14
    9
See reviews for
189
133
64
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I recently had an early meeting in Menlo Park so I decided to pass on what can be a really hairy (and stressful) commute and stay at the SPH the night before. What a brilliant idea! Not only did I spend a relaxing evening, I got to my meeting the next day refreshed, relaxed and on top of my game. What a fabulous "home away from home!" The front desk welcomed me like they'd been waiting for my arrival. How nice is that??!! I decided to settle in there for the evening and have a casual dinner in the bar by myself. The bartender took EXCELLENT care of me, helping me pick a lovely glass of wine from a most impressive list of wines by the glass. I sat at the bar and ate there. The service was professional, attentive and friendly without being "overly friendly" if you know what I mean. I really dislike bartenders that try to perform or be your next best friend. There's something particularly nice about being treated like a guest and that is truly how all the staff at this hotel treats you. Another excellent experience. Can't wait for the next early meeting in Menlo Park to do it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We held a company event at this property. The Lobby has a library like setting with a huge brick fireplace. The property has a very large courtyard area in the middle which is great for just sitting in the evening or for an event. This property is very close to the northeast corner of the Stanford campus. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating, but at our stay seemed to be a little short handed. We had a dinner for about 30 people and the food was excellent and banquet staff exceptional. We had a great time and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They are redoing the rooms while staying open. Make sure you know if this is a newly remodeled room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gedlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr Gedlaw,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to your return when we can WOW you even more.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadero, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am lucky to say that we have stayed here at least once a year since my daughter was very small (she is 7 now), and we just love each time better than the last. We just stayed last weekend, and had the most fun ever as we stayed two nights, and could really spread out in the room and relax into our stay. The pool and large hot tub were wonderful and very peaceful. The staff is very accomodating and very friendly and truely nice people. We missed the cookie hour the 2nd night as we got down to the lobby at 10pm, and the nice front desk lady went and got my daughter a cookie from the restuarant. Menlo Grill, the restuarant that has won many awards, is really good and I always look forward to eating there when we stay. We had room service for breakfast (my daughters favorite thing to do!), and it was really tasty, and very fast. We really were treated like royalty. The Parlor room with two queens was more than spacious for our family of 3, and we really felt at home with all the great amenities the rooms offer (love the robes!). A very classy hotel, and we will look forward to coming back soon
Oh, and if you are here over the weekend and have kids, don't miss the Jr Museum and Zoo in Palo Alto. Such a cute place to visit and SO fun for the whole family

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine94060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Elaine,

I am so glad that you and your family return each year and that we have become part of your family’s memories. It is especially nice to hear the staff did what they do best, which is to welcome and delight our guests with exceptional service. The Menlo Grill has become such a nice amenity for our hotel guests to enjoy and I am glad that you were able to avail yourself of this pleasure. Thank you for your very nice comments. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Stanford Park Hotel.

Sincerely,

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Located a few blocks from the Stanford University campus, the Stanford Park Hotel is a respite from the strip-mall like El Camino Real, the north-south thoroughfare that links Silicon Valley communities. It practically shares a parking lot with a car dealership, although in this case it's a Tesla showroom. Once inside the hotel, a sense of calmness sets in. Ask for a room with a fireplace and you will get a Presto log that burns long into the night adding a soothing glow to your bedtime. The housemade chocolate chip cookies and choice of teas are a nice touch before retiring. Service is fine and the staff well trained to accommodate the many guests for weddings, business, and University functions. Enjoy the sounds of the train as it passes just steps from the hotel throughout the day. The hotel says it will upgrade parts of the hotel the first part of 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms with fireplaces and the other side of the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h2onab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARADISE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at SPH. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL !!!!! The staff is GREAT - especially Colby & Elizabeth & Davis & Nicholas- very friendly & helpful. The room was very clean, bright, & quiet.... except for the train at times, but did not hear it at night! Bed was a dream!!!
Classy hotel!!! A little on the $$$$........ but close to Stanford hospital / & shopping mall. Rating- 9.5 out of 10.

Room Tip: Room 306 .... & 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NANCY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardstone
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly professional staff. Particular thanks to Olivia on the front desk who was extremely welcoming and friendly. I was upgraded to a delightful room overlooking the pool. Unfortunately my stay was for just one night - preceded by a very depressing 4 nights at the Creekside Inn. When planning my trip to Stanford Uni the Stanford Park did not feature in the Palo Alto hotels tripadvisor listing which I suggest is remedied as it is closer to Stanford than many of the Palo Alto hotels. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.7 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
2.9 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#3 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Property: Stanford Park Hotel
Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing