We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Service and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Service and Location”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in the Silicon Valley and having tried many, I find myself always returning to this wonderful hotel. The service is fantastic, the rooms well appointed and comfortable, and the restaurant absolutely top-notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valhallapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    138
    35
    18
    10
See reviews for
220
145
70
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stanford Park Hotel is a fantastic place to stay. I spent 3 days there last December, traveling for business, and I have only the best things to say about it. The rooms are spotless clean, they are well furnished for a business trip, and they are kept in top shape by the wonderful staff of the hotel. The personnel of the hotel are VERY helpful, gentle, and go out of their way to understand what you are looking for.

I would happily stay there in the future, and I heartily recommend it to everyone who travels near the Menlo Park and Palo Alto area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A quiet oasis that is cleverly tucked away just of El Camino. Convenient access to Stanford University and/or the Stanford Shopping Center. The atmosphere of the hotel is charming and the rooms are luxurious. We particularly liked that most of the rooms overlook the court yard.

The only minus we can think of is that the pool is rather small and separated by just a brick wall from El Camino, so not very tranquil .

Room Tip: you want a court yard view room, stay away from the (few) rooms facing the railroad tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I recently enjoyed another stay at the Stanford Park Hotel, and it remains on of my favorites in the world. Combining luxury with comfort, the "country" feel of fireplaces, stone and natural wood, is enhanced by luxury appointments including furnishings, flower arrangements, and room amenities. What really stands out, however, is the professionalism and genuine friendliness of the staff. Whether this reflects selectivity in hiring, fantastic training, or a combination of both, the result is an atmosphere of warmth and attention that should appeal to both the weary business traveler and the relaxed vacationer.
I'll definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Train noise makes its way down the chimney in rooms with fireplaces. Not a disturbance, but just be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I can recommend this hotel as being very handy to Stanford University and Hospitals, and the shopping mall. It seems very responsive to the needs of business travellers and others. I didn't see anyone getting delayed in checkout each morning, even at very early times. Good service at the desk, the bar and restaurant, pleasant layout. Wi-fi was very good although not technically free (included in a resort style charge). The rooms are a little older, but mine was very neat, very spacious, and clean, no issues : it is not trying to be a 5 star inner city place, but I believe it is around the best in this particular area. Perhaps some of the rooms could be noisy depending on the courtyard chatter, and north facing rooms will cop some Caltrain hooters / whistles. I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiepax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to hear that we met your expectations of a genuine, authentic and comfortable hotel. We are constantly upgrading our product and we have a multimillion dollar renovation commencing later this year. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our new improvements.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The wonderfully sophisticated luxury Stanford Park Hotel is not just for business. Located across the street form Stanford Mall and minutes form Palo Alto the hotel is a perfect refuge in the Silicon Valley. While visiting my daughter at Lucile Packard Children's Hospital I stayed in room 301, huge, comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful, I'd like to come back for a romantic weekend soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Stanford Park is still my favorite hotel in the area. But the rooms are dated and it needs investment. Simple things such as lack of electrical outlets. The service and staff are friendly and good. I have never had a bad stay. It offers the opportunity to work or read outdoors in a quite courtyard in winter or by the pool in summer which I particularly relish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyCEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Stanford Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the impression that we have made. We have been working for quite some time on the guestroom designs with the intent of incorporating more ergonomic and productivity features as well as comfort and warmth.

The hotel has undergone a number of upgrades as we strive to continually upgrade our product relevant to our guest's needs. Most recently we have upgraded much of the infrastructure including the wireless internet, computer systems, restaurant, event spaces, roof and fitness center. Our hotel car is a 2013 Cadillac Escalade, and we now have bicycles available to borrow free of charge.

The next stages of renovations include the bar and the guestrooms. We are designing custom furnishings appropriate to the classic, yet stylish motif of the property.

I am sorry that we have made you feel as if we are not concerned about your comfort in every way possible and I can assure you that our continued investments will eliminate any thoughts that the property is anything less than excellent and deserving of your business and loyalty.

Please contact me directly because I’d appreciate speaking to you personally and learning anything I can regarding how we can make our rooms the absolute best they can be.

Appreciatively,
Patrick
(650) 322-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.6 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Property: Stanford Park Hotel
Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing