We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in all ways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanford Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the moment we drove into the parking lot we felt welcome. The hotel is beautiful, our room was upgraded, parking was free and service friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. Our room overlooking the courtyard made one want to just curl up and stay but the public space beckoned and we watched Christmas trees being decorated, football in the bar and swam in the salt water pool. In the evening warm cookies, coffee and tea are brought out to cap off your night. Upon leaving I ask if I could buy the shampoo, a favorite of mine and a bag of 8 small bottles was given to me. Lovely!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank pattyperfect9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

There is a reason this hotel is rated so highly; it does most everything right! I have stayed here a few times and you will be hard-pressed to find an annoyance - except for the occasional Cal train thundering past the property!

The rooms are large and equipped with all the necessary high-end amenities. My last room even had a vaulted ceiling and a wood-burning fireplace! The king beds are fantastic as are the bed linens. There is free WIFI, a pool and a modest fitness room. The lounge and lobby have 2 large fireplaces for a quiet after dinner drink. You could stay at the Westin, but you would pay a lot more and probably have no better a stay than you'll find here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Stanford Park Hotal for business and it was great! Spacious rooms with free wifi throughout the property, excellent food, comfortable beds and work-places, a gym with brand new top-of-the- line equipment and a staff that really pays attention to details. In addition to the nightly cookies, bikes available to tour the adjacent Stanford University campus, and Starbucks coffee on demand, the staff even charged my phone for me when I realized I had forgotten my charger. If you are a business traveler or in the Stanford area for any other reason this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Stanford Park Hotel while visiting Stanford University. It couldn't have been more convenient. It's about a 5-10 minute car ride to the University, same distance to downtown Palo Alto. The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are beautifully appointed, clean and well cared for. The courtyard/gardens are absolutely stunning, so ask for a room that opens out into the courtyard. In the evening, the hotel puts out freshly baked cookies, which are delicious. I agree with another reviewer who complained about the train; from our room we could hear it running all night long so if you are a light sleeper, be sure to request a room away from the train tracks. The gym and restaurant are both first class; modern and maintained. Just one constructive criticism...even the Holiday Inn offers free coffee and tea in the lobby; the Stanford Park should too. Paying $4 for a cup of coffee in the lobby in the morning when the room is a couple of hundred dollars per night is somewhat annoying. I really give this hotel 4 1/2 stars as overall this hotel is close to perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the train tracks, with a view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellenwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

great place for business travelers. The hotel was spacious, rooms quite large with lots of charm. The service was very friendly. Had room service for breakfast, it was very good.
Ate in the restaurant on site and it too was great food.
Overall a great hotel. My one warning is that cabs are not readily available but the attendants are helpful in arranging pick up.

Room Tip: All rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammatthews6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I like this hotel. It is very convenient to downtown Palo Alto, you can walk there for restaurants and shopping. The rooms are big and the beds comfortable. The hotel is right near the cal-train line so ask for a room not facing that, though the trains are not that frequent and don't seem to run much during the night. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank crts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoy staying at this hotel. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are large with quaint finishes and all kinds of special touches. The beds are among the most comfortable that I have slept in. The restaurant and bar are homely with good food, wine and drinks served in a friendly manner

The location is good, opposite the Stanford Mall, but a little walk to downtown Palo Alto, though there is a complimentary town car service to locations within a 3 miles radius.
I enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 11 in Menlo Park
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range: $214 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing