We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An Elegant Boutique Hotel near Stanford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanford Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanford Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Southern California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Elegant Boutique Hotel near Stanford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed two nights on business. This is a very traditonal high end hotel, well appointed with impeccable service. Offers the level of service and ambiance as boutique hotels you might find in Boston or New York. The room was quiet, spacious and comfortable. For dinner, I ate in the the restaurant which was excellent, very comparable to a fine dining restaurant and well above the quality ususally found in high end chain hotels. For breakfast, I ordered the night prior using the in room menu card. It was good, but seemed to have been standing a bit. The hotel has a beautiful spa, sauna, exercise room and pool. Those seem to have gone unnoticed by other guests perhaps because the access is all the way at the end of a long hall. I had them to myself both nights there. A refreshing way to unwind in the evening after a long day of meetings. If you can get a room within your budget, this hotel is a complete "no brainer" choice. Nothing else in the area comes close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTVohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    127
    31
    15
    9
See reviews for
192
135
66
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This jewel of a world-class hotel hits on all cylinders. The spacious guest rooms are bright and cheerful, exquisitely appointed, and unquestionably clean. The staff at the front desk is cordial, welcoming, and extremely accommodating -- I was dressed in shorts and sandals and felt like the most important guest of the day. The lobby is impressive, yet peaceful. You'll want to spend some time there in the morning, reading and people watching. The bar is equally awe-inspiring. Spend some time there, too. Silicon Valley can be a crazy place. The sunny garden, the wonderful breakfast, the quiet pool -- the Stanford Park Hotel is a sanctuary for the discriminating traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

the Stanford Park is a beautiful hotel, with an old world feel to it.. lush carpets, comfortable chairs, tropical plants throughout. The bed is absolutely heavenly... thick and very cloud like. Everything is clean and neat. Room service is fast, and the staff is all very friendly. I stayed in a room overlooking the pool, and only heard the CalTrain go by once.. very quiet. I can hear the people walking upstairs, however. Good internet access, convenient outlets.. etc. Not very green, however.. each day I hung my towels up, indicating that I would reuse them, and each day they were replaced.. not a big deal, but wasteful.

My complaints... the TV system was rotten.. the TV picture was grainy and there was no information button on the console to tell me what I was watching. Cable was very limited (no food or travel channels), and movies were $15.99 to rent... really.. you're charging up to $550 per night and you can't comp me a free movie? I also forgot my toothbrush, and went to the front desk to ask for one, and was told that there was one on the honor bar for $4.

If a hotel is going to tout itself as being the lap of luxury, and the Stanford Park IS a very nice and elegant hotel, please don't nickle and dime your customers on these trivialities... it's a bit distasteful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a lovely hotel. We stayed 2 nights and fell in love. Great, caring staff, amazing food in room service (those fries!), and gorgeous rooms. The grounds are gorgeous and relaxing. If you have time when you are there, go see the Filoli Gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Stanford Park Hotel for a wedding (so we got a wedding rate which was a GREAT value, a very nice surprise) and were blown away by the quality of this stay. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice, the room was gorgeous with beautiful furnishings, and best of all, the bed/pillows were some of the most comfortable we have ever slept on (which feels strange to say about a hotel). Free parking as well which is always nice. I don't know California that well but it seems like the location was great, just down the road from streets with tons of restaurants and shopping. It was incredible and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family of four spent three nights at this hotel and were sorry when it was time to leave. The staff was very attentive (in particular, Nicolas at the front door!), the room decor was lovely, the amenities were nice (pool, workout room) and the evening cookies were delicious. We would not hesitate one bit to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLJNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The property is pretty, but we arrived at 5:20 and our room was not ready. Check in is at 3pm so I don't understand why we had to wait 15 minutes to get into our room and after a very long flight and we were in a big rush to make a dinner reservation, I was not happy about the wait. We had a small suite that was nice but our view was over the trash dumpsters. Not a big deal. I did want to go out to the pool area to read. The pool area was okay, nothing impressive, and small. I did enjoy the courtyard area very much. The restaurant for breakfast was excellent and the service was excellent and very fast. Hotel is across the street from a huge very nice mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewhubbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.7 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.0 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#3 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.9 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Park Hotel

Property: Stanford Park Hotel
Address: 100 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Green Hotel in Menlo Park
#1 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European luxury awaits you at the Stanford Park Hotel. Enjoy superb service, award-winning cuisine, and exquisitely appointed guestrooms at one of the finest hotels in Silicon Valley and the San Francisco Peninsula. Conveniently located adjacent to Stanford University and Palo Alto, the Hotel provides an elegant and tranquil setting for a productive meeting, memorable wedding, or a restful personal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanford Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Park Menlo
Hotel Stanford Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing