We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lucent
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Pretty basic motel - could have done with a good clean!

Room was quite large but basic - some of the rooms are more modern than others and some have kitchenettes.

Breakfast was fairly standard for this type of place. Cereal, bagels and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the "recently" renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smeh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    14
    2
    10
See reviews for
22
17
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this motel for three nights while visiting family in the area. It was more reasonably priced than other accommodations in the area. The room was very clean and the facility was quiet. Good location as there was a Safeway grocery right next door. It had a refrigerator and microwave oven. Free wi-fi. Staff was very accomodating when we needed more towels. The only complaint was that it was run down. For example, the toilet seat was loose and the bed was sagging. However the excellent location and cleanliness made up for it. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Buffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had a conference near Stanford and I looked for a nearby place to stay for the week.
Due to my personal health issues, I needed a place that also has a kitchenette. Luckily for me, I came across the Mermaid Inn and managed to book a room.

The location is very convenient. There's a large Safeway grocery store right next to the motel which is open 24/7 and the Stanford Shopping Center is a 10-minute walk away. There's a bus stop right near the Safeway store, and free shuttles to Stanford pass through it almost around 20 minutes (look for the BOH line). The caltrain station is also pretty close to the Motel.

The staff was incredibly kind. They had no problem letting me check out late and were very kind to assist me throughout my stay. The rooms had everything I needed, including free wifi (which we all know is as important as... water).

Great place, will definitely return whenever I visit Stanford.

Room Tip: Top level floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This unfortunate stay made me think about how far away -- both in distance and in connection many hotel owners are from properties. These buildings, filled with rooms and services that busy travellers like us depend on are mere investments for many -- and there can be little concern for the actual customers. The hotel room had stains on chairs, carpets, old and questionable bed linens, bugs coming in through holes in screens, peeling paint, water stains... the works. I regret that I was too busy from the moment I arrived until early the next morning to change to a different hotel --- b/c it was not a good night's sleep in such an environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked here for a night while visiting my son because it was the only local accomodation with a room under $150 a night. There was even a special on for $75 a night. This is really a motel. The blue and white sea theme is kind of kitschy and there were some mermaid figures in the office. Everything had been painted recently. There is a pool. The woman at the desk was so very bubbly that it made the experience very positive. The room was small but comfortable. The plumbing worked, the bed was okay. I didn't use the microwave or refrigerator or tv in the room, but I did use the wireless internet connection. There was no noise during the night, not even from the road, and the location is in an upscale area so I wasn't worried about my car. There was a Continental breakfast but I chose to go out to eat with my son instead. It was close to all major streets and next door to a grocery store/shopping area. I'd stay here again on my next visit. Problem was that in the room is a directory of local restaurants with stars by those indicating there was a binder with menus in them in the office. When asked the staff had no idea of what I was asking which made me think it had recently changed hands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianesquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in one of the kitchenette rooms. It had a full size fridge, microwave, stove, and sink. The room also had a nice comfortable futon, flat screen TV, and queen size bed. The bed was comfortable but nothing special. The showers were low flow showers but there was always hot water and no scalding issues. Breakfast was pretty basic. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chips5ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

All the big hotels were full so I booked at the mermaid. I got the suite for $110 night. Big room with
Refrigerator and microwave. Sitting area. Great shower pulse brand with side shower heads
Nice bed, balcony. No iron or ironing board, no dresser or drawers. Loved the mermaid drawing in room. Some road noise no too bad. Internet great. There is a desk for working. Safeway food store and Starbucks next door. Coffee , OJ and pastry for breakfast. Nice pool area. No maid service we stayed 2 days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.5 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
3.3 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucent

Property: Hotel Lucent
Address: 727 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-4801 (Formerly Mermaid Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lucent 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lucent is a Mid-Century inspired hotel that embraces the indoor/outdoor lifestyle of Menlo Park and embodies the Silicon Valley experience of Work. Play. Connect. It's a place where like-minded individuals can meet for business, social activities and to network - just minutes away from the heart of Palo Alto and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lucent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing