We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, good price”
Review of Hotel Lucent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lucent
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean room, good price”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in one of the kitchenette rooms. It had a full size fridge, microwave, stove, and sink. The room also had a nice comfortable futon, flat screen TV, and queen size bed. The bed was comfortable but nothing special. The showers were low flow showers but there was always hot water and no scalding issues. Breakfast was pretty basic. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chips5ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    15
    2
    11
See reviews for
32
26
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

All the big hotels were full so I booked at the mermaid. I got the suite for $110 night. Big room with
Refrigerator and microwave. Sitting area. Great shower pulse brand with side shower heads
Nice bed, balcony. No iron or ironing board, no dresser or drawers. Loved the mermaid drawing in room. Some road noise no too bad. Internet great. There is a desk for working. Safeway food store and Starbucks next door. Coffee , OJ and pastry for breakfast. Nice pool area. No maid service we stayed 2 days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I booked this hotel because of it's easy accessibility to Stanford Hospital. Our son was to report there at 5:30am for surgery the next morning. After attending his pre-op at the hospital, we went to check in at the hotel. Although the people at the front desk acknowledged that we did indeed have a reservation (I'd made sure to write down the confirmation number, and the name of the person who made the reservation), they did not have a room for us. They offered us the hostel--a room with bunk beds and no TV which stank of Lysol. It gave me an instant headache, there was no way that we could subject our son to that before surgery. This left us in the extremely bad position of having to find a room on short notice in a town which tends to book up early due to the number of people who stay here to obtain surgery at Stanford. The Mermaid staff made absolutely no attempt to help us in our search for a room. After numerous calls, we managed to find a vacancy, but spent far more than we would have had to if we had made the same reservation weeks ago (like our original reservation at the Mermaid). This unpleasant experience was not what we needed before the day of surgery.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MLS93940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Mermaid Inn was recommended to us for a no-frills one-night stay near Stanford University. It's on the El Camino commercial strip just north of campus in Menlo Park. Rooms in the 2-story U-shaped building open to the outside facing a little pool, and thus the noise from the busy road is muted.

We booked a "renovated" room on the first floor and were quite satisfied. The decor is modern motel but everything is pleasant enough; the beds were comfortable. Free wifi worked as advertised. We noted some curious characters around the pool but overall we were comfortable with the atmosphere.

Given the location in Silicon Valley, we were not surprised to find that the room price was out of the usual motel range. Still you won't need venture capital to afford it.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room well back from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was just there the past couple days. The lady at the front desk Theresa is very helpful & spoke perfect English & very nice. The bed & pillows were soft & very comfortable, the tv was larger & has HBO & Showtime. The room was nice & clean. The outside carpet was a bit dirty but inside the room very clean. Even though it's next to El Camino Real I barely heard any traffic noise. Some hotels have rooms up against a parking lot so you get headlights in your window. Not here, here they have room upstairs & their downstair rooms are by the pool & a bit away from the parking lot. It's convienently next to Safeway, cafe's, coffee shops & gas stations.

Room Tip: Ask to speak with Theresa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed at the Mermaid Inn for just one evening when I didn't want to drive back to SF after a night of fun in Menlo Park. The hotel was clean and a little tired-looking, but c'mon it's only $75 per night. Check-in was fast and not friendly- but not unfriendly. There were two adorable dogs who greeted us as we arrived and the hotel will let you keep dogs there if you ask first. The room was fairly spacious, although the property is small. I was worried about the privacy at first but the shades at the window blocked out all sunlight. There was a humongous television that I had trouble operating with the remote control, but since I was only there for sleeping, it wasn't a big deal. I didn't bring a swimsuit but will next time since the pool area was pretty quiet and I love a warm swim. I also didn't take advantage of the free breakfast, as I walked to Peet's to get muffins and coffee in the morning. Yum!

Overall, I'd stay there again. It's nothing fancy, but it's got a good location, was clean and safe, and offers a good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonHunter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

For $80 a day - everyday - I had a recently renovated large room with comfy linens, soft towels, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, above average vanity lighting, wifi and continental breakfast. Also a super convenient location next to large supermarket, across the street from office supply and close to 2 Starbucks and other restaurants. I saved about 35 to 40% over the next least expensive in the area and found this a great value. Staff - family owned - was helpful as well.

Room Tip: Choose renovated room away from grocery and street - many fit this description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pearl212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.5 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
4.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
938 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucent

Property: Hotel Lucent
Address: 727 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-4801 (Formerly Mermaid Inn)
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lucent 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lucent is a Mid-Century inspired hotel that embraces the indoor/outdoor lifestyle of Menlo Park and embodies the Silicon Valley experience of Work. Play. Connect. It's a place where like-minded individuals can meet for business, social activities and to network - just minutes away from the heart of Palo Alto and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lucent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing