We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down best pizza in Menlo Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Applewood Pizza

Applewood Pizza
Ranked #47 of 122 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hands down best pizza in Menlo Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

As you enter the rustic atmosphere of Applewood you are greeted by the smell of fresh cooked pizzas. Wonderful soft crust envelopes you in a pizza dreamland. Rich sauce with perfectly melted cheese not to oily and yet plenty of cheese. A must try for anyone needing good pizza.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service horrible, pizza exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is as close to the Seinfeld episode involving the Soup N.... That I can remember. The staff not only does not care that you are there, they prefer that you weren't! Self serve from the menus to the plates and utensils. I refused to bus afterwards. The pizza however is possibly the best that I have ever had. Perfect crust- not too thick. Fresh, large portioned and identifiable ingredients. No grease. Medium enough to feed 3 people for $17- $18. We went back twice - learned to like the abuse. Maybe take-out is the way to go?

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doran44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Good pizza. The base is thin but the edge crust is thick which makes for a filling and delicious meal. They are generous with the toppings. The crust has a bit of a honey flavor to it which was really nice. The price point was good. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because as the pizza cooled the sauce became runny and made the crust a bit soggy. Was not a problem for my first 3 slices, and i imagine if i put the leftovers in the oven it will crisp back up.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meggie2187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Seriously going downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Applewood's used to be one of our favorites for pizza in the Bay Area. It used to be practically impossible to find a table at this restaurant ten-fifteen years ago. It's no longer the case. On a recent visit, the place was practically empty although it was Saturday night. It seems Applewood's is rapidly going downhill after being bought by the Hungarian family who used to run the Los Altos branch (which is now closed). The restaurant looks run down, with old dingy furniture, well-worn plates, plastic cups, and cutlery. The employees are rather grumpy and unwelcoming. Hard to believe this place can stay in business in Menlo Park much longer. The pizza is still good, but the environment is no unappealing that a better choice is to take one to go from Applewood's To Go across the street and eat it in the comfort of your own home.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mooneydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

The pizza was fabulous. Excellent crust with the right amount of sauce. The cheese was balanced and the vegetables were fresh. The rest of menu looked tantalizing as well, but I only had eyes for the pie. This restaurant has been in business for years. They have a lock on pizza.=]

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocklvr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applewood Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Applewood Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing