We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere”

Menlo Grill Bistro and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Menlo Grill Bistro and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sand Hill Road
Transit: Cal Train - Menlo Park.
Description: A classic American grill with a warm and inviting neighborhood feel. The relaxed setting offers casual, yet sophisticated, dining with a menu that highlights regional and seasonal ingredients. An extensive wine-by-the-glass and craft brew selection is also featured.Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night snacks.
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Frequently go to the Menlo Grill for dinner and most of our dinners are consistently good. The staff is wonderful and accommodating and they have a lovely room where you can have a private family/friend gathering. They have a relatively new chef who is trying to mix it up and offer seasonal dishes.
I love their hamburger which is excellent quality and always done the way you want it. The restaurant is part of the Stanford Park Hotel which is a beautiful venue. There is outdoor seating as well and no corkage fee when you're eating inside the restaurant. That, in and of itself, is a miracle in our area. Prices are reasonable and we consider it a favorite of ours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    62
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Calif. omlette delicious for breakfast”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wonderful service, quiet, cozy atmosphere, perfect for business meeting or quiet place to get work done before jetting off for the day

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3298Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were staying at the Stanford Park and went down for a convenient breakfast. I had Eggs Benedict which was prepared perfectly. My wife's omelet was lovely as well. The staff is very friendly and attentive. We can't wait to return and explore the rest of the menu. The only downside is it was a little noisy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_J_Lane, General Manager at Menlo Grill Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Joe,

We are so glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your breakfast at the Menlo Grill. On your next visit you must give our brunch a try as its also delightful and delicious. Thanks for your great comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Menlo Grill Experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Last week my wife and I had dinner at the Menlo Grill. It was the first time there for both of us, but definitely not the last. From the doorman to our servers everyone made us feel very welcome. Our server, Tommy, had two assistants and they were like a well-oiled machine. The timing of each course was perfect. Tommy knew the menu very well, he was able to answer all our questions and offered some suggestions. The food was incredible. The chef is a genius. The presentation was amazing. The Grill has no corkage fee; I really like that. We brought our own wine, but there were plenty of great choices on their wine list. There was more than we could finish and we did not hesitate to accept their offer to box up the leftovers. The atmosphere, food, presentation, service, everything earned five stars. We are already looking forward to going back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 126charlesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Slow cooked Prime Rib, a succulent treat!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

So a friend of mine was eating prime rib at the Grill on the Alley in the Fairmont Hotel in San Jose tonight. He posted a picture on Facebook with he caption " Heaven". It was beautiful and made me desire some Prime Rib. I am staying at the Stanford Park Hotel in Menlo Park ( see my excellent review for the hotel) and looked for a place to get the king of meats. The bartender Aaron suggested how great the Menlo Grill's version was- special slow cooked PR on Sunday night. Having eaten at the Menlo Grill for a week and enjoying the chefs creations I was ready to try it. Outstanding! A beautiful cut of tender meat, accompanied by Au jus and creamed horse radish ( of course), mashed potatoes and asparagus. Just the right amount of succulent crisp fat and seasoned just right. Slow cook is the way to go. Daniel, our Maitre'd was on top of it. Add free corkage and I was in heaven. My wife had the seared scallops and loved them. All in all a great meal. Thanks to the chef and servers for a great meal and enjoyable time! We felt like royalty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myron1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menlo Grill Bistro and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Menlo Grill Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing