We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service excellent, food good represenatitive of style”
Review of Bistro Vida

Bistro Vida
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Vida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 123 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: El Camino Real
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“service excellent, food good represenatitive of style”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The menu is a good reflection of what you would find in a bistro in Paris (for example) and the food is an accurate representation of each dish. The food is slightly more modern than the local competitors, without the attitude. The overall experience would be of a smaller city in France than of Paris, itself, Definitely the service is friendly, and helpful. The owners have obviously put a lot of effort in achieving the ambiance that they want (eg having decor that matches a French bistro) and deserve repeated visits, The overall prices are a good value for the area. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canuckfan491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Just ok , I have been in better ”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in with friends , for dinner. We tried several selections , beef , shrimp , and something else ? Everything was ok but not great .

The prices were reasonable for the area but there are better places to go in the area for the value .

The service good which was a highlite .

For me , I will not be going back . Too many other good places .

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a bistro in downtown Menlo”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

You can't go wrong with this friendly but authentic French-style bistro on the main drag of Menlo Park, Santa Cruz Avenue. They have a few outdoor tables to dine at if it's warm outside - otherwise, their cozy, almost romantic bistro is very comfortable. The tables are not too close. It is not Michelin-star fare, but you will get very good preparations of salade Nicoise, French onion soup, and a selection of grilled fish. I have never had the cassoulet nor the boeuf bourguignon, but I hear they are excellent.

Nice, quiet bar area too if you just want to drop in for a glass...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCC_Runs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weird - just plain uncomfortable”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Food was average - not great - but the service was so weird that I felt not only uncomfortable but horribly unwelcome. I would never return. It's bad enough when a single employee drops the ball but when the management is also negligent then that's a sign better to spend my $ elsewhere. Much better options close by - Palo Alto and Mountain View - this was just a very unpleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Brasserie in Menlo Park”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you want traditional French Brasserie style food, Bistro Vida is a good choice. I live in the area and like to come here on cool nights for classic braised dishes like coq au vin that I don't have the time/energy to cook for myself. Prices are very reasonable considering it is in MP -- Left bank a few doors down is a whole price point higher for very similar food.
There are some North African influenced dishes on the menu that are worth trying including a delicious tangine. There is a prix fix menu most nights with salads/soups/desserts that are excellent. The best offerings on the wine list for my taste are the French house wines offered by the glass. They offer a good selection of California wines as well.
Like most places in MP, it can be absolutely packed on one night and have lots of room the next. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Vida also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing