We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, comfy acommodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value, comfy acommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

We needed to be in the area to visit family at the Stanford Hospital. It was tough to find a decent place at a decent rate. The Red Cottage Inn offered great rates and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms sit back from El Camino Real. They are well-decorated with fantastic beds. Rooms even have private patios, and the hotel's common area was landscaped-nicely.

Like other hotels in the area, it tends to sell out midweek. Take along the address, because the sign can be hard to miss.

  • Liked — Great room! Helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Could be difficult to pass by on the busy street.
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cabingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    69
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
40
31
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

The Red Cottage Inn is set back from the road so it is quiet and private. Our room was very clean and we had a small private deck, so we kept the sliding glass door open to get fresh air. The bathroom and all the little extras were great. The grounds are not quite as pretty as shown on the website though, and the continental breakfast was just average.

  • Liked — It was quiet.
  • Disliked — The continental breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank brodeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

They recently remodeled a lot of their rooms and I absolutely love it!
It's got a modern feel with a bit of Martha Stewart mixed in.
The decorative lamps and paintings made it feel unique and it's obvious the designers put real thought into each room.
The comforter wasn' t the old floral kind in most hotels/inns, where you're afraid to put near your face at night. They use this light checkered pattern and it looks and feels clean! Thank god.
The bathrooms were ultra clean and modern as well.
I felt like I was staying in a stylish home of a good friend.
The service is prompt and polite and.....this could be the icing on the cake -- their breakfast selection is expansive. Their homemade blueberry muffins rock, and for the low carbers, they prepare a fresh batch of perfectly hardboiled eggs every morning.
I'm very pleased with my stay and I definitely will return in the future!

  • Liked — Quality of the Rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

We can't say enough about the cleanliness and superior service we received at this hotel! The rooms were sparkling - almost seemed as if we were the first to stay in them. The people managing the office were so helpful, even printing out maps for us and answering questions on sightseeing. The continental breakfast was superb - fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, waffles. During the day, fresh baked cookies were available. The swimming pool was CLEAN, even had large towels to use. The setting is beautiful and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank APEGRAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

What a wonderful hotel! The redecorated rooms are fantastic, the pool inviting, and the whole atmosphere condusive to a vacationing spirit. The owners do an excellent job in every way.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2006

We stayed here for one night, as the Menlo Park Inn couldn't accomodate us both nights we were in town. Am I glad that was the case! The Red Cottage Inn was a wonderful surprise, starting from when I called from Santa Cruz Ave in Menlo Park, to see if they had a room available that night. They did (the last one) -- a Queen that, with our AAA discount, was actually $5 cheaper than the Menlo Park Inn.

The first nice thing I noticed was that the Inn was set back a bit from El Camino. There were also flowers and landscapping. The office was a little small but nicely decorated and the person who checked us in very friendly.

The room was slightly smaller than average, but with a tall, slanted white ceiling that made it seem very airy. There was a private balcoy with bistro table that looked out over a pool area. The bathroom had a wondow that opened for ventilation ad fluffy towels.

Amenities also included in-room coffee maker, glass mugs, refrigerator, and free internet acccess. For the money, this is a great value.

Pros: good location (5 or so blocks from downtown Menlo Park), great value, nice rooms, good amenities

Cons: Overlooking the pool in the summer might be noisy

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jemangepdx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

Stayed with my wife on a trip for work. The price was right and the price was also right inline with the accomodations. I think the pictures on the site may be a bit misleading. You should not expect a luxurious and beautiful place at this price and that is what the pictures seem to portray. On the other hand it was peaceful, clean... the staff was pleasant and helpful. That is what you would hope for in any hotel and you will get that here. They were in the middle of a lot of renovations so I hope to see what the place re-done next year. The private patio was a nice place to sit out and have a glass of wine and a snack and a welcome amenity.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Property: Red Cottage Inn
Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing