We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel!”
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Menlo Park
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This inn is set back off the very busy El Camino Real....they took something from the past and created the perfect little oasis. We had a back patio with small table and chairs, small fridg, microwave....beautiful updating, clean and tidy. Then you go around to the pool and sitting area....very charming and relaxing! The designers didn't miss a thing and we felt blessed to have found such a gem. This inn certainly has what the "corporate hotels" are missing. Highly recommend. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheriRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s nice to know that you were able to take advantage of the nice California weather lounging around our pool and sitting area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just about anywhere else this would be a run-of-the-mill motel. But it's noteworthy here because it is not all that expensive relative to other area lodging. I'll give it credit for being clean and quiet (despite its location right on El Camino). I sat by the little pool one morning reading the newspaper and felt a million miles from the Silicon Valley hustle. The truth is, I would go back. Don't expect anything fancy and you will probably feel the same way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Red Cottage Inn many times as I work in the area a few times a year and travel from Santa Barbara. The staff is always warm, welcoming and incredibly helpful. This year I forgot ALL of my hanging clothes in the closet and they mailed it to me with a Thank-You note....WOW! No charges were made to my account and everything arrived within a few days. They are terrific and the environment is wonderful.

Room Tip: I like the ground floor rooms by the pool. Nice sliding doors that allow for fresh air...no need for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy to know that the clothes that you left here at the hotel arrived safely to you. We look forward in welcoming you back whenever you are in Menlo Park area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at Red Cottage for 4 nights in July. I had been given the handicap room (not requested and not needed), which was very roomy. My favorite part was the private patio/deck area off the back of the room that included a small table and chairs. I enjoyed the included breakfast outside every morning. Red Cottage had excellent continental breakfast: hard boiled eggs, Nutella (my fave!), Babybel cheese, yogurt, milk, cereal, bananas, muffins, oatmeal (packet style), coffee, and more. They even let me sneak a few things early on my way to my flight out before the official breakfast start time.

A lot of other things were included with the room too: bottled water, umbrella (to borrow), makeup wipes, and Keurig coffee. (Some days, my water wasn't replenished.) My room had a microwave and fridge.

The fitness room was very air-conditioned with new looking well-maintained equipment. There was one each of elliptical, treadmill, and bike with several hand weights as well as yoga and bosu balls. The hours were posted as 7AM-10PM which seems fairly limited, but the hotel staff told me earlier and I was in there as early as 5:30AM with no complaints from anyone. My only complaint about the fitness room was that the wipes from the dispenser were dried out.

I'll definitely try to book early enough to get a room here on my next business trip to the area. It was such a treat to come back to such a nice room at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanitysvial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We look forward in welcoming you back and we’ll take note of those wipes in the fitness room and make sure that they are not dried out. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Once again the Red Cottage Inn provided us with a comfortable relaxing place to stay while our boys were attending football camp at Menlo Cottage. The breakfast available to us included a lovely selection for all appetites, the staff were friendly and the rooms were impeccably clean. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and in the courtyard for quiet times. The location of this Inn is fabulous in that it is a short walk to Downtown Menlo, directly across the street from the College and just a short trip to San Fran, Half Moon Bay, San Jose or any other place you may want to visit. Thanks again to the staff and management at this privately owned Inn.

Room Tip: Even the rooms by the parking lot are quiet so there is no worry about which room you are assigned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write us a nice review. We look forward in spending future family events with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you seek nightlife, an action scene, the Red Cottage would not be for you. Me neither. However, it is clean, quiet (secluded, really), comfortable with good beds, staffed by friendly folks, and convenient to many places and attractions on the mid-Peninsula. And it is a good value for the rate.

I especially like its proximity to downtown Menlo Park and the businesses along Sand Hill Road. The inn has cookies awaiting guests upon checkin, and serves a typical cold breakfast buffet in the mornings, starting early enough to meet most people's needs (6AM, I think).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobLakeOswego_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 10 days and couldn't have picked a better place. The price was quite reasonable considering the area. We were near Stanford, all great restaurants.the hotel was so clean! The beds and pillows were so comfortable!Usually. I am very picky where I stay because of bed bugs in many hotels,but the minute you walk in the room and see the cleanliness of it you didn't even have to check. Even my hsband remarked a place is pretty clean when you can wipe your hand on the inside of the closet and get nothing. Every morning we had a great choice complimentaryof cereal,juice,coffe,muffins,bagels eggs,and Danish.after supper we would come back to the hotel and they would have fresh cookies and coffee. Also, in our room was a microwave and a kreuig coffee maker with k cups.the pool was heated so my granddaughter enjoyed the benefits of relaxing in the pool.
We had one issue where the Bathroom sink needed to be fixed and it was taken care of promptly.i suggest anyone who is looking to stay here do not hesitate! It was quiet ..we felt like we were alone with our own terrace,except for an occasional sound of a far away train..which to me was soothing..i loved it!and the staff was so nice! Any questions were pleasantly answered.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with your own patio on the 1st floor. The rooms going out to the pool are only 1 qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 456Donna1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 11 in Menlo Park
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 11 in Menlo Park
160 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 11 in Menlo Park
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range: $129 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing