We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing oasis in the middle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“relaxing oasis in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Great place to stay. Very clean, quiet, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable rooms. Nice, relaxing pool and patio. Convenient location. This is the only place we will stay in the Menlo Park / Palo Alto area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    61
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
39
28
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

I stayed at the Red Cottage Inn for five days of business all over the Bay area (south bay, east bay, San Francisco). I was in a standard queen room and it was clean, lovely ambience (view out onto the pool courtyard), and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and although the cover was dirty when I arrived, the hotel staff changed it immediately. I had absolutely no problems. The breakfast that was included in the room price provided plenty of options, including hard boiled eggs (warm if you get there early).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVBackus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed on a Sunday night, paid $127 including tax for King bed in the single story building. The place was charming, clean, and quiet. Located at the edge of Menlo Park and Atherton. The motel sits off the El Camino Real a bit, and is close the the railway line, but we never heard any traffic or train noise. The staff was pleasant and courteous. A small breakfast was available in the lobby featuring assorted cereals, hard boiled eggs, toaster waffles, juice and fruit. 3 different size pillows were on the bed, a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and the room featured a flat screen TV. The parking lot is located before you get to the buildings with the rooms, which was great because we didn't have to listen to people getting in and out of their cars. All motels should be designed this way. Free Wi-Fi was a snap to use. Would definitely stay at again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in single story building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockmarketbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The only thing I didn't like is chairs. It was a little bit uncomfortable when I tried to do some tasks on my laptop. Please, make it higher! Everything else is excellent, nice rooms (exactly as on their photos) and friendly stuff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keatlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Service was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. We had cocktails beside the pool even though it was cool out. There is a great liquior store within walking distance. It is a quick drive to a Safeway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is a great motel-like place to stay, located away from El Camino Real (quiet!). Rooms are nice and very clean. Staff is very helpful. Go for the second floor rooms in the main building, if available; there's even a small patio overlooking the pool. A few restaurants are within walking distance; for more choices (in Menlo Park and Palo Alto) having a car is recommended. Overall, excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZwennK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Very conveniently located to Stanford. As others have said, the hotel is quiet, clean, and sweet. Loved the patio, even though it was too cold to sit outside. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The fridge, microwave, and deluxe coffee maker were an added benefit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travl4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#3 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Property: Red Cottage Inn
Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing