We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic presentation, good food, but pricey”
Review of Madera

Madera
Reserve with OpenTable
Madera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 123 Restaurants in Menlo Park
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: HWY 280
Description: Madera Restaurant Honored with One Star by Michelin and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2012. A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests. This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic presentation, good food, but pricey”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The presentation of food is superb at this place. They have done a great job in accomplishing that. The food is delicious as well.

The chairs and tables can use a little update because they show a bit aged. This place is a bit pricey compared to other places that also serve great food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank y2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food and presentation”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a lovely lunch at Madera this summer. The appetizers were sumptuous and the entrees, at least two out of four, are very good. There is not much of a view from a window seat, you look out on the deck and beyond the tables to highway 280. Service was a little too attentive, granted we stayed for a long time but there is no need to interrupt us in mid-conversation several times to ask if there is anything we need. You can see photos and comments about some of the dishes at my website: http://foodsparks.blogspot.ca/p/california.html Scroll down to the post called: Saving Grace, its about the food at Madera.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rarecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Good Service”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The ambiance is one of quiet elegance. The staff is very friendly and the food is very tasty. The kitchen is on full view so it's kind of fun to see them bustling about.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - excellent food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This restaurant it located in the beautiful RoseWood hotel. You won't get big hearty servings but the presentation of the food is very artistic and the combination of flavors is wonderful. Dessert is a must!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorCal50Something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not really as good as one would expect for its location.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

First time was better possibly because there were only three of us, do we decided to go back later in the week with a party of six. Service was poor. The staff were really hard to wave down to order drinks or wine. No one stopped by after the main entrees were served for about 10-15 minutes and they had not brought out the side dishes yet. So we all shared our sides after we finished our entrees. I had the glass of wine I had ordered with dinner afterwards as well because it was late.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricEvans70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madera also viewed

 

Been to Madera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing