We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone has to go to Sunset Celebration at least once.”

Sunset Magazine Headquarters and Gardens
Attraction details
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
424 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Everyone has to go to Sunset Celebration at least once.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Always look forward to the annual open house of Sunset Celebration and this year was as terrific as ever. Wandering around the grounds and seeing the creativity of people is amazing. There were lots of snacks available. Looking forward to going again next year.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1GiantsMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having been long time subscribers to Sunset Magazine, we've always talked about going to the gardens and finally made it down there. We had almost the exact experience as the folks from Australia. The parking lot was empty, we walked through the great wooden doors and were greeted by....wait, no, we weren't greeted at all. The receptionist just sat there and looked at us like we had ten heads when we asked if this was the right place to see the gardens. No "Hello, welcome to Sunset," or "May I help you?" or anything. She pointed to the brochures, told us to go through the glass doors and close them behind us. Upon stepping through the doors the very strong stink of manure fertilizer hit us (no wonder she wanted to make sure we closed the doors behind us)

We did enjoy our brief stroll through the gardens (once we got used to the manure smell) but were very underwhelmed with the entire experience. The place was a ghost town. And to read a nearly identical experience from almost two years ago, it's very sad that Sunset lacks any semblance of graciousness and hospitality to guests that came to see their gardens. We felt as if we were intruding. No worries, we will certainly not intrude again, nor will we recommend that our friends intrude as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BB94954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“California gardens offer ideas”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Sunset's lovely gardens give visitors plenty of ideas to take home. Call ahead to find out if anything is happening in the demonstration kitchens.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very "California". I'd recommend taking friends from out of state there. Lots to see, and often something special going on. Lovely grounds and buildings.

Helpful?
1 Thank grramaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“VISIT THE GARDENS THIS SPRING”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The gardens are beautiful,especially this time of year,springtime,but theres always something in bloom throughout the year

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaralee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Magazine Headquarters and Gardens also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing