We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”
Review of Rosewood Sand Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Sand Hill
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Menlo Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The overall experience was very good. Rooms are large, service very good and location excellent if you are doing business in the valley. In addition, this hotel has an awesome pool and spa which is a welcome plus. I will stay there again......

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MarkTluszcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 296 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Rosewood Hotel is on Sand Hill Road, the beating heart of Silicon Valley's venture capital industry. It is a low rise resort spread over 18 acres, the rooms spread across the complex in two storey buildings. There is an attractive swimming pool and a Michelin starred restaurant. I had a two night stay here in February 2013 (room 2403). The room was large, with a little patio and lounger, the bedroom having a chaise longue as well as a desk and chair, and had a walk-in wardrobe and a comfortable bed. The shower was excellent, the bathroom spacious. What impressed me most were the staff. On one occasion I had trouble with my room key, and rather than just saying "here is another" the receptionist actually walked me to my room to check that the new key worked. I also had an issue with my iPad charger, and when I asked where the nearest Apple store was the receptionist explained that they had a spare charger that they could lend me (or even sell for a very reasonable price). The restaurant was for me not really of Michelin star standard, but was above average for a hotel, and had a lovely view over the Santa Cruz mountains; it also has an unusually good and tolerably priced wine list. If I am back in the area this is where I will stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is a top notch hotel. The service is superb, and the receptionist staff is even better. The rooms are AWESOME, although they are spread all over the hotel location, in several buildings. If you have issues with walking, then this may not be the place for you! This hotel is quite pricey, as we stayed here under a Spa package. Also dont be afraid to ask for anything, particularly a discount or substitution on items within a package stay. You will be amazed what you will receive (and it is ALL good).

Room Tip: rooms closest to the main building are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a fabulously chic hotel. Everything about it is indulgent. The welcome areas are large and inviting; the motor court seemingly always has three Porches lined up; the bathrooms are about as big as some hotel rooms, and the grounds are immaculate. This all comes at a very hefty price. If you can afford it, it's great. Not a bad room in the house, but the grounds are so large that you should accept anyone's offer to get your bags delivered. The bar is the place to be seen and you shouldn't be surprised to see some movie stars. The main downside is that you have to be prepared to remain at the resort. You will need to drive to Palo Alto or Menlo Park for dinner if you get sick of the hotel food, which I found to be merely above average, but not anything to write home (or to the internet) about.

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor rooms. Less traffic, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTrav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSHManagement, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear TexasTrav30,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Rosewood Sand Hill. Thank you for the 4-Star review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rosewood Sand Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spread across ~1 acre of property, the Rosewood provides a number of separate "cottages" that contain 2 to 4 rooms per structure. Walking through beautifully maintained grounds to the main lobby and meeting rooms is a wonderful break during the day. All accommodations are very nicely done and perfectly maintained. Very high-end bathroom in my room./unit. Huge shower.

Checking-in is a bit goofy. Because the rooms are spread out, the hotel escorts you to the room with a golf cart. You follow the cart with your car, if you have one. Pull up to the front lobby and they will park your car for a few minutes while you check-in and then introduce you to your golfcart escort.

NO ice in or near the rooms. You need to call room service if you want ice.

Staff is all ultra professional - in accoradance with the hotel atmosphere. Multiple opportunites to tip the staff, because they are constantly being helpful/useful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSHManagement, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear 45viking - Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy you appreciate our manicured grounds and elegant interiors. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Four of us arrived minutes before the kitchen closed and had a great meal with drinks. The wait person was welcoming and extremely competent, graciously taking our orders and serving them with wonderful humor and warmth. Our meals were well prepared and presented, including superb hamburgers, a skirt steak with fries and arugula, and tuna tartar. The wine and cocktails were excellent. The bar was lively when we arrived. We stayed until the closing at 1 AM and had a wonderful time. I will return when in the area again.

Room Tip: We were staying at the Hotel Keen and went to the Rosewood Sand Hill Hotel for late dinner and drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSHManagement, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Wayne T. - Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience in Madera. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I won't repeat the already stated positive aspects about the hotel. However, a 3 night stay left me with the impression that the food and beverage department and service needs an overhaul.

First, there is way too long a wait between ordering and receiving room service. Forty-five minutes in the morning, when one has meetings etc to attend is just not acceptable. I ordered room service a few times and this seemed standard.

Second, they got my order entirely wrong, not once but twice e.g. the eggs benedict came as something completely different. It had to be sent back and I began the wait, all over again.

Third, after complaining to the F&B team about the above, someone was meant to get back to me in "just a few minutes" but there was no follow up.

Considering the price of the hotel, and the food - where you don't get away with a room service order that is less than about $50 at base for a main, this was markedly poor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSHManagement, Manager at Rosewood Sand Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your experience at our hotel. Our goal is to completely delight and satisfy our guests and we did not provide you with our usual high level of service. All of the issues you brought up have been addressed with the Food & Beverage management and staff.

We've appreciate your business and again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
2.9 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 11 in Menlo Park
1,003 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 11 in Menlo Park
160 reviews
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
414 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Sand Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Sand Hill

Address: 2825 Sand Hill Rd, Menlo Park, CA 94025-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Price Range: $594 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Sand Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid 16 pristine acres in Silicon Valley, Rosewood Sand Hill® melds the rich heritage of relaxed California Ranch architecture with fragrant gardens and stunning Bay Area views of the Santa Cruz Mountains. The hotel appeals to an array of guest experiences with resort-like amenities, lush courtyard gardens and local charm. Whether relaxing in the largest guestrooms on the peninsula, indulging at Sense® spa or delighting in the freshest of fare at the Michelin-starred restaurant, Madera, guests enjoy unparalleled attention to detail and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Sand Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Sand Hill Hotel Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing