We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price on a weeknight. Sabryyah Nice!”
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hill House Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2007

The Hill House was a good deal on the 4th of July since it fell in the middle of the week. The Room was average, with a nine courtyard outside the slider. The TV was big, & the amenities were sufficiant. Best of all was Sabryyah @ the front desk. I explained to her that I had spent big $$ on motels on my M/C ride up the West Coast, & was not ready to pay big bucks to stay there. She helped where she could on pricing, & was nice doing it. The wine list in the lounge was long, & pricing was reasonable. I wouls stay there again!

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank ZUKSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Hill House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 420 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2007

My Hill House rating is a mixed bag. The service was good, the staff responsive and our room was clean. But we had an ocean view room where we looked over the road and a small subdivision to see the shoreline. OK view, but nothing to get too excited about. At $200, I would have expected better. But the property is not on the ocean. It is on a hill with the road into Mendocino and a subdivision between the property and the cliffs. The view was OK. In addition, this was the only property on our 3 week Northern California trip where I had to go to the bar to pick up WiFi - it is not available in the rooms. So my rating is based on value received.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

This is a quiet, beautiful inn in quaint Mendocino. The room was well appointed and clean. The gardens were in full bloom and quite lovely, indeed, with beautiful flowers everywhere.

I can't say enough good things about the friendly staff. My husband is somewhat handicapped, and the desk clerks were more than helpful on the mornings of our arrival and checkout, June 16 and 17.

The restaurant is very good, and the view from the facility is a wonderful scene of the ocean. Good food and great service! I wish we could have stayed for a week, and I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nonnax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2007

Had a great time. The staff was was wonderful and friendly and Sabryyah was so welcoming when we first arrived. Fantastic views of the pacific ocean and nice size rooms with fireplaces really made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We recently stayed at the Hill House Inn for the third year in a row to celebrate our anniversary. We return yearly because of the charming rooms, friendly staff, (especially the front desk manager Sabryyah), and the location. Hill House Inn is not in town but just a few minutes walking distance so it is quiet and offers wonderful views from the property. The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet and very affordable for the location. It has the feel of a B&B but with more. We look forward to our return next February.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

My husband and I needed a quiet weekend at the coast and we found it at the Hill House Inn on the Mendocino Coast. We paid for a garden view room, but received a surprise when we were given an ocean view at no extra cost to us. The room was very roomy with plenty of space to spread out and good closet space. The bed and bedding was comfy and clean with lots of pillows. The staff was friendly, from the gardener to the front desk. The flowers in the entry, even in Feb., were welcoming and fragrant.

I believe we have found our new home away from home while visiting the Mendocino coast.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

I traveled with a girlfriend, and we were given a lovely room with a garden view. The room was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. We were impressed by the presentation -- towel-folding, etc. Only minor complaint was the noise from the heating system. We solved that by turning it off before retiring the 2nd night.

All personnel at the hotel were friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. The off-season price was very reasonable.

The location is wonderful as we were able to walk to town and enjoy all that Mendocino has to offer without having to drive. For our long weekend stay (Friday to Sunday), we drove only once so that we could enjoy dinner at another location.

The restaurant food was delicious, although the continental breakfast was rather skimpy, and we would have enjoyed having juice available.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank cjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $106 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Inn is a premier hotel located in the historic village of Mendocino, California, with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is situated in lush Victorian gardens, open fields with native vegetation, towering rustic redwood water towers and magnificent cypress trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing