We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Relaxing, & Cozy in Fall. The Staff was Sweet.”
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hill House Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
El Sobrante, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Relaxing, & Cozy in Fall. The Staff was Sweet.”
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Loved the fireplace in the room. The ocean view was wonderful.

The staff worked hard to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Teresa (front desk) helped me find my way around town with a little visitor's map & suggested a great place to eat. I called the day after we left to say that I had lost my favorite pair of slippers. Sabryyah (front desk) located them for me, called me back & mailed them to me! Even after my stay, she provided awesome service.

The Hill House Inn is close enough to walk to town.

The price for Fall was a bargain.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank kmg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    143
    101
    50
    20
See reviews for
83
218
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Generally, it was a lovely stay. Arrived on Halloween evening, and were greeted by Teresa and Bob, both of whom offered a friendly greeting and extended excellent customer service throughout our visit. Teresa was very helpful in answering our questions about where to eat and what to do, and Bob was very entertaining throughout our...shall we say "interesting" experience at the hotel's karioke Halloween party.

Room was nice - incredibly small bathroom area, but nice, spacious room with an extremely comfortable king-size bed, fireplace and a beautiful ocean view. I will agree that the Continental Breakfast left a LOT to be desired. Coffee was weak, and the limited amount of food (a bowl of small apples and oranges and saran wrapped bagels) was pretty pitiful.

Great location!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the continental breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anibananie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

California
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel over a very rainy weekend.... The weather was not good, but the hotel was great and that make the weekend wonderful... The room was large, clean and very comfortable... They are dog friendly so we brought our dog...
We were there with a group.... because of the rain they made arrangements for our group to have a meeting place to visit and play games... they went up and beyond to make the group comfortable.
They also have a very nice continental breakfast... that was an unexpected treat.
We would highly recommend this hotel.... we plan to return next year.

  • Liked — great hotel... clean and comfortable... GREAT location in town
  • Disliked — we really liked this hotel.... nothing bad
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank getawaycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2008

My friend had a wedding at this hotel and so I stayed for three nights. The staff is very friendly. The handyman is one of the quickest, most helpful and friendly I've ever met. From the check-in, to the reception, to advice/directions, to check-out, I was completely satisfied with every encounter.

I will back up what others have said about the lounge and restaurant. It would be nice if the lounge was open more often (it was not open at all while we were there, except for the wedding reception) and if breakfast was more than a bagel in saran wrap.

All in all, I will definitely stay here again when I return to Mendocino!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

...this is where we were moved after a night of agony...

Our second day in Mendocino Town was happier and vastly more appropriate for us. I went up to this Beautiful Place at 5:30am, took one look and raced back to the other place to fetch the baggage and my lovely partner. She was alarmed, then charmed; the instant I opened the door and showed her in. When she smiles, I am happy..
Not enough can be said for management that tries to please; it is sufficient to laud Paul, the night clerk/manager.
Our room was a lower, no stairs to challenge us. There was a King Bed, a large bathroom area, a commodious table that served us very well - all the comforts!
The morning included a wonderful Continental Style Breakfast that was ample. My partner went to her all-day meeting, I drove back and killed time with a paper, a hike along the cliffs and having a lunch that I shouldn't have.
Highly recommended

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2old4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We traveled from Portland, Oregon down US 101 & Hwy 1 to Mendocino, CA. Staying at different hotels down the coast. This was by far the nicest, friendliest, and most accommodating hotel.
When you arrive you walk through beautiful gardens and step into a magnificent hotel lobby. Beautiful decor and warm friendly hotel staff. We were shown different rooms to choose from, one with a garden view and the other a ocean view.
The room had a wonderful fire place, king size bed and plenty of closet space. The decor was Victorian in flavor and was very relaxing.
Theresa at the front desk recommended a wonderful place for dinner in town. After we walked around the town and then came back to sit by the fire. Beautiful stay for our last night on the coast.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — no restaurant at this time
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OceanloverNapa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We've been to Mendocino many times. The Hill House Inn location in Mendocino is perfect, We were disappointed with everything else. The restaurant is closed, the bar (lounge) is closed unless there's entertainment and then there's a cover charge, and the Sunday brunch was a toast-it-yourself bagel with cream cheese in the closed bar area. The staff did come in to clear tables but the dirty dishes were left to pile up next to the clean plates and silverware.

Our room was dark, and the view was limited.

No internet access in the room, although they did have it in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jtooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
4.9 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Property: Hill House Inn
Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Inn is a premier hotel located in the historic village of Mendocino, California, with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is situated in lush Victorian gardens, open fields with native vegetation, towering rustic redwood water towers and magnificent cypress trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing