We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Mendocino”
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hill House Inn
Ranked #16 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hill House has a quite location, and we had a very comfortable king bed (we prefer firm mattresses, and it fit the bill). The staff was super nice. There isn't a restaurant, and note really a breakfast other than pastries. But, a short walk away, the Hotel Mendocino has good food and you get a discount because they are sister hotels. It was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hill House Inn is definitely the place to relax and enjoy the time away from your regular routine. Staff strive to make each guest feel welcomed and that their stay is comfortable. Location being so close to the village makes it easy for our guests to walk to town and enjoy shopping or a wonderful meal at our sister property The Mendocino Hotel which offers all of our guests a 15 % discount on dining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 439 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Romantic get-aways? Not hardly. I was terribly disappointed. My husband and I chose this place for our 45th anniversary. Mistake. Room was not at all what i expect from an "Inn" in Mendocino. Beds were old and sagging, linens, carpet and decor dated around mid 80's, wallpaper peeling, television from the 90's, furniture was scratched, dented and paint peeling. No elevators or offer to assist with luggage.

Continental breakfast? Not really. Plastic wrapped bagels, hard boiled rubber eggs, waffle maker left the waffles tasting like the non-stick coating, syrup was individual servings in pre-packaged containers, no milk, orange juice and sour apples. No other food available on site.

No refrigerator, mini-bar or microwave.

It was clean and had space.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hill House this weekend with a deal we found through living social. We were disappointed in our stay for numerous reasons. Here are the things we did not love about the hotel:

1. Decor of rooms is very dated and worn out. I felt like I was staying at my great-grandmother's house. The multiple clashing floral patterns on the walls, floor and bedspread were very unappealing. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling and the bathrooms obviously have not been updated since the '80s.
2. Continental breakfast was very meager - plastic-wrapped bagels, hard boiled eggs, do-it-yourself waffles, and a few pieces of whole fruit (apples, oranges). I had expected to find pastries and sliced fruit such as melon, strawberries, or grapes.
3. No ocean view from our room.
4. No onsite restaurant or bar.
5. Feather pillows on the bed - I hate how they flatten out throughout the night.
6. No soap dish in the bathroom.
7. Bath products provided in the bathroom were very low quality. For a hotel in this price bracket, I would have expected high end products.

Things we did enjoy about the hotel:
1. Perfect location, a short walk into the main part of town.
2. Outside appearance of the hotel is charming.
3. Front desk staff was helpful and cleaning lady was very nice.
4. Room was spacious and clean.

Overall, we were not impressed by the Hill House and we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenCJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friend had her wedding reception here, as well as her bridal suite. It is a very cute, quaint hotel. And the food at her reception was the best wedding food I have ever had, especially since I'm vegetarian!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank medgirl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Weddings are our specialty here at the Hill House Inn. Whatever your taste in food our chef can accommodate, whether it is cultural dishes, vegan, vegetarian or your great grandmother's recipes we can make it happen for your special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We did the Romantic Getaway package they advertise with an extra night - they were nice enough to make sure we were in one room for all three nights, but they forgot the champagne & strawberries that was supposed to be in our room waiting for us. When we called about it they said oh yeah you got that package. Needless to say we had to keep asking about then finally go down on our final night and wait for the champagne and strawberries. But it was not Champagne but sparkling wine which was very bitter and the strawberries had a thick homemade bitter chocolate over the slices. The room was worn down (actually it was a room under the eaves) felt like a closet. Several receptions were going on that weekend so the noise level was up, and the room was passably clean. Dust & dirt in places it shouldn't be, like the rim of the sink. We will not be back to the Hill House Inn, unless it is bought and renovated with new management & staff. Oh I did forget to say that there is a big 'For Sale' sign currently on the property. That may be why it has this neglected feel and whatever attitude by the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbrat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Inn on our way up the coastline. We found this place to be charmingly historic and unique. The staff was very helpful and it was a breath of fresh air from the chain hotel stays we have experienced. Loved the historic feel and it is also close to town. Breakfast was good, standard continental food and plenty of it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Mendocino definitely is a break from "chain" anything as we have a very strict historical review board that allows us to keep our village pristine. The guest's experience here in our village is peaceful and the relaxation that they get is so worth the drive. Our staff is always glad to hear that their friendly and courteous service is appreciated and we strive to make all of our guests feel welcome. Hope to see these guests back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hill House Inn for 2 days. Our room had a balcony with a view of the ocean. It was very pleasant and peaceful. The room was spacious and comfortable. I enjoyed the "retro" feel of the place. The breakfast was basic, but good enough to get you going. The breakfast room had a great view. You walked up a beautiful curved staircase to the breakfast room. I thoroughly enjoyed the lobby area with the celebrity photos and antiques. We would recommend this place as well as stay there again.

Room Tip: upstairs for balcony and great view, downstairs if stairs are a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
8.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $77 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Inn is a premier hotel located in the historic village of Mendocino, California, with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is situated in lush Victorian gardens, open fields with native vegetation, towering rustic redwood water towers and magnificent cypress trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing