We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hill House Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
bristol, tn
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Recently my wife and I stayed at the hill house inn and absolutely loved it. The setting is wonderful and the hotel really has a great feel to it. We loved the fact that it was not in downtown Mendocino, being away from the hustle and bustle was nice. We would like to see the lobby decorated differently, it looks like whoever bought the furnishings bought whatever came to mind. Other than that, the staff was wonderful. Sabryyah was excellent on check in and Levi was very pleasant when we checked out. We would definately come back, hopefully the restaurant will be open on our return visit.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank agent_tory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    140
    96
    45
    18
See reviews for
79
210
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenn.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Thank you Very much for a very pleasurable stay. Before the Thanksgiving holidays I felt as though I needed a break. After finding your hotel at complete random. I was totally shocked by the atmosphere and utter pleasantness of your staff. Being a Business owner and dealing with people daily gets rather frustrating after so long. Upon arriving at your hotel mid afternoon I was met by a very very helpful young man at the front desk but I am not sure of his name, I believe it was Levy. Returning from my fishing trips everyday this young man was VERY helpful in directing me to sites and evening outings that made my stay even more enjoyable than i expected. The house keeping staff is impeccable and I very much look forward to returning to stay! I hope by the time I return next year the restaurant will be in full working order!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Odinlobo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Just finished a two-night stay (Sat-Mon) at the Hill House Inn in Mendocino, California. Hotel location is at the top of a hill at the edge of town (next to the cemetery). There is a grocery store about two blocks away with a pretty good selection of food and supplies. Stores and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Booked a ground floor Garden view room through Priceline for $95/nt. Check-in went smoothly and staff was very friendly. However, upon arriving at the room we found the heater had been turned completely off so the room was only about 55 degrees--brrr. Unfortunately, because the heater is radiant (ie, doesn't use a fan), it takes a LONG time to heat the space. In fact, after turning the heater on its highest setting and leaving for a couple of hours to walk around town, the temperature had only gone up to 62 upon returning. In addition, there was water dripping from the bathroom vent (directly above toilet).

Front desk staff indicated that maintenance would be notified about the ceiling leak and check it out the next morning. They also indicated the room could take awhile to warm up, so we left and killed a few more hours in town. After returning to the room, the heat was up to 70--problem solved. The next morning we learned from another front desk person that maintenance does not work on Sundays. In light of the dripping fan over the toilet, we were moved to another room--larger with a fireplace.

Sorry to say the heat was not turned on in the new room either, and it was actually COLDER than the first room! Same routine, turned heat on high, left for awhile, came back during the day to check temperature. By late afternoon we finally asked staff for some wood to burn in fireplace to help heat the room. At least we could sit in front of the fire and watch a little TV...NOT! That evening, just as the fireplace was getting started, the town's power went out. Good thing for the fire as it was now our only source of both heat AND LIGHT. We were given a few more logs for the fire and power was restored after a few hours.

During the stay, staff was considerate and willing to help fix the problems. While we can't blame the power outage on the hotel, the lack of heat and water drip are issues that could probably have been avoided with a little prearrival walkthrough.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good location
  • Disliked — Room condition
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knickfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed at the Hill House Inn in 2004 and loved it. This trip, sadly, presented an inn in apparent decline. The restaurant is closed. The advertised robes were delivered only after a pleading request. Wireless works only in the lobby. Things in the rooms were broken (the clock) or well worn--on the edge of shabbiness. On the up side, the staff were friendly, the room clean, and the location convenient to the village.

  • Liked — Location, ambience
  • Disliked — Condition of room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jaydee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Picked this out because of price and description in AAA Travel Guide and were pleasantly surprised to see how nice it was and where it was located. We planned on staying one night while touring coastal California but liked the place so much we stayed 3 nights, 23-25 October.
Beautiful place. Sabryyah was a most gracious hostess on check-in as was everyone else we encountered.
We would be delighted to return.
Some other reviewer described this place as "dated." Well, I suppose they would also describe the White House in Washington as "dated." It is a very pretty place in a well maintained coastal/Victorian style.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank twoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We went to Hill House Inn because we had heard through a friend about how close it was to the town of Mendocino and the ocean...the room was large and spacious and the fireplace gave us just the what we needed in terms of our honeymoon. At ages 61 and 69, we wanted comfort and quiet and thet is just what we received. The hotel clerk was named Sabryyah and she made sure we had everything we needed without us having to ask...enough towels, directions to the best places to eat , and even took pictures of us, on all given with the greatest smile and kindness. She obviously takes pride in her work and in Hill House. We felt like very pampered, important people because of her treatment. We will recommend Hill House highly to all.

Carole Hyams and Elbert Howard

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank relleno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Clean and pleasant room that was larger than expected. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Watched the sunset from second floor balcony in front of the restaurant. (Restaurant was closed Sun and Mon when we were staying at the Inn).

Walking distance to the town of Mendicino, although there is a short distance you must walk on the road without a sidewalk. The town was quaint.

We used this as home base to tour Medincino wine country.

Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and clean
  • Disliked — No internet service in room. Had to go to lobby, although not a big issue.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Johns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Property: Hill House Inn
Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Inn is a premier hotel located in the historic village of Mendocino, California, with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is situated in lush Victorian gardens, open fields with native vegetation, towering rustic redwood water towers and magnificent cypress trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing