We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for the night with Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A great place for the night with Kids”
Reviewed June 25, 2005

We stayed here last minute for one night, with two kids. They had a nice suite with a king in one room and a pull-out queen sofa in the other. DVD and VCR in the room, wood stove, nice porch, fridge, microwave. The place has an indoor heated pool (sort of old, but so what) and hot tub, which is rare on the coast and was great with the kids. They have Llamas, horses, etc. for the kids to check out (but not ride), as well as canoe and kayak rentals, etc. Dinner in the all veggie restaurant was pretty good; breakfast (same place) was excellent. The hotel has an up-scale laid-back feel to it; it's a good place with kids, mostly because of the pool.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    81
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
107
263
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2005

We actually celebrated our anniversary here in 2003 and LOVED it. However, I did go off-season and got a decent, mid-week rate which included both breakfast and dinner. It should be noted (at least back then) that the restaurant is strictly vegetarian...better check before booking a room if you're a carnivore!

I was relieved to note that other posters all agreed service was "iffy". The front desk staff were aloof and I got yelled at for letting my dog prance too far into the lobby area by the dining room. The restaurant staff was so-so as well. The grounds are beautiful, the pool and jacuzzi were housed in a lovely, big greenhouse. Our room had a nice (but limited) view of the ocean. However, I'd only stay there again if I could get another internet special. Paying full price for such indifferent service isn't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2005

The Stanford Inn by the Sea is a self-contained haven for those visiting the beautiful Mendocino Coast. Finding the inn is no difficulty at all, as it is located just off of the scenic Highway 1.

The first thing you notice when you drive in are the acres upon acres of landscaping. It is beautiful year-round, but during the early spring and summer it is especially spectacular. Flowering plants of all colors shock your vision as you approach, and sitting out on the deck looking over the gardens is one of the greatest joys imaginable. The gardens are open for guests to walk through, and I have spent many hours exploring them. The gardening staff is friendly and knowledgeable, ready to tell you what a particular plant is – they even have their own nursery, so you can visit the greenhouses and pick up some plants on the way home.

The rooms are elegant and well-equipped. The fireplace was laid out when I arrived, and a crackling fire at night helped cap off a perfect day of wandering through Mendocino. Small touches are what sets this inn apart from so many others – complimentary chocolates and a bottle of wine, friendly greetings from the desk staff and owners, and a bountiful gift shop thoughtfully stocked with any amenities one may have forgotten at home.

The pool area is fabulous. It is an indoor pool, hot-tub, and sauna, with tropical plants growing throughout. Stepping through the door at night feels like being whisked away to some distant island paradise, with the warmth and humidity kept perfect twenty-four hours a day.

The restaurant on the premises, the Raven’s, boasts organic vegetarian and vegan fare. Those who are used to meat as a staple in fine dining have nothing to fear however – the food is excellent, served in a distinguished manner deserving of any of the finest restaurants of the city. The wait staff is knowledgeable about their extensive wine list, as well as the menu items, and talking to them is in and of itself a treat.

The property is on the edge of the Big River, and in addition to offering fabulous views of the Pacific ocean, this also allows them to provide canoes and kayak rentals for day trips up the river. The current is easily manageable, and as the river runs through a park area, the views are unspoiled and truly majestic. At the canoe shop you can also rent bicycles to take short or long rides along the many paths and roads (including an old logging road which borders the river). The beach is also within easy walking distance, or a one or two minute drive away.

Everything about this place makes it feel like home – but a home offering more amenities and luxurious comfort than you could possibly imagine. The staff is attentive and friendly, and the owners are often available should anything come up. Of everywhere I have stayed in Mendocino, this is far and away my favorite, and I highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brendanmcguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sourh pasadena
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Stanford Inn by the Sea in mid-April. The grounds were absolutely stunning as well as the rooms. As noted in other reviews, sadly, we found the front desk staff, and staff in restaurants to be stand-offish, complacent, and rather bored in their positions. We are accustomed to that at hotels-however, isn't one of the highlights of staying at an Inn interacting with the warm and helpful staff?

For example, while we were having tea one afternoon in the lounge/bar area, the young man that was working behind the bar had twoof his friends visiting him at work. I have no problem with that-however, wouldbe asking too much to clean the numerous tables that were dirty-They were also talking rather loudly about their car problems-sort of ruined the atmosphere/moment of a peaceful afternoon tea. I would have brought this to the attention of the staff at the front desk, howver, whenever we asked them a questions, we were met with a blank stare-or a very short, curt reply.

I would give this property an excellent rating, for the rooms, cuisine, and grounds, sadly the staff doesn't measure up. If we are ever in the Mendocino area again, we will venture to the McCallum House, or Albion Inn. We stopped by those properties and were met very warmly.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 1JetSetGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Property: Stanford Inn by the Sea
Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing