We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Retreat in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Spacious, lovely room with a deck overlooking the garden made this a wonderful 2 night stay in peaceful Mendocino. Had planned only 1 night but enjoyed it so much we extended. A bit pricey, but still cheaper than the other nicer rooms in the area, and much nicer than most. Really enjoyed the fireplace since evenings were chilly. Room was very well appointed and inviting.

Vegan breakfast may not appeal to all, but we enjoyed the opportunity to taste this fare.

Staff was very gracious, especially Serena, who helped us choose our specific room. Would loved to have stayed here longer but schedule required us to move on.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the beautiful garden area.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write, and we are so glad you enjoyed your time at our Inn. We will pass your kind words on to Serena, and hope to see you again in the future! All our best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Stanford Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 479 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just spent 3 wonderful nights at The Stanford Inn By The Sea. This was our third visit to the Inn and, again, we had the best time. The grounds are spectacular with beautiful views of the sea and gardens. Each room has a wood burning fireplace, that is cleaned and re-set daily, a Keurig coffee maker, iron and ironing board and lovely soaps, hand lotion and shampoos. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. There is a large indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi. It is an animal friendly property but the pet owners seemed to be very watchful of their pets and none were bothersome. The Inn is conveniently located just minutes from the center of Mendocino, close to the state parks and just an hour away from the Anderson Valley wineries. There are several excellent dining choices nearby. There are exercise and Yoga classes available and a small but well equiped fitness room. They have a really nice Happy Hour and offer tea or coffee and a delicous dessert every afternoon. There is a full breakfast included but the menu is totally vegan so you need to be open to the non dairy/meat choices. You can be adventurous and try one of the vegan dishes or order the oatmeal, granola or fruit plate and the best scones ever. All the staff is very accommodating and friendly. The innkeepers are very nice and do a great job in making their guests feel comfortable and welcome. If you are looking for a romantic getaway or place to spend time with friends, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms in the Big River Building have fantastic views of the gardens and sea. We st...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurbankTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you so much, this was so wonderful to read! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and wish you the very best. Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in Canoe cottage which had the benefit of being private, good space inside and a yard, and included a kitchen. However, it was more "rustic" accommodations and you could hear street traffic. Nice free breakfast. It is vegan so may turn some people off. I am not vegan but found they did a great job appealing to carnivores/dairy people. Very friendly staff. Great location next to free bike rental and for-hire canoes (go in morning). Hotel is just a few hundred yards from town and close to state parks. Unique grounds that are pretty and dotted with llamas, donkeys, horses and a vegetable garden. Covered pool and hot tub are nice. Fitness room subpar. Had older equipment some of which did not have electrical cords. Pricey, but generally worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronzeroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our fitness room.

We replace the equipment fairly often, in an attempt to keep things up to date. In fact, we just installed a new stationary bike! Of course, we also provide real bikes for guests to explore the area. The treadmill is the only electric device, therefore not too many cords in our fitness room.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review, and we hope to welcome you back soon! All our best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our second stay a the Inn, the first being some years ago. It was just as wonderful this time -- a beautiful setting, a lovely room with fireplace overlooking the garden, warm and efficient staff. The only change seemed to be that the food is now totally vegan-- a brave decision by the owners to follow what is for them an ethical path.

Breakfast was very tasty.As non-vegans though, and craving a little dairy and meat, we opted for dinner in town. Which isn't to say that if we'd stayed another night we wouldn't have dined at the Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your second stay, amid the changes we had made and can't wait to welcome you back! We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We go up to Mendocino several times a year and this was our first stay at Stanford Inn by the Sea.
We always travel with our dog and Mendocino is extremely pet friendly. This hotel was fantastic, the grounds are beautiful BUT Most of all the Pool was fabulous. Our only problem was that we are not vegans. The food was tasty but my husband really wanted eggs and cream for his coffee. Loved the bartender (great happy hour for guests) .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlc-alameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write! We're glad you enjoyed your time here, and hope to welcome you both (and the fur-kid) back sometime in the future. All our best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Oh, my, how I love the Stanford Inn. I have been coming here with my family for upwards of 14 years, and they have always been the perfect getaway. They are totally vegan, which is AMAZING for a vegan like me. The rooms are spacious and cozy, and I love the fireplace. It is right near town, but far enough away you feel like you are in the woods. There is a wonderful view of the ocean! There is a canoe station as well if you feel like it, which is totally worth your while. I love the pool and the hot tub! So many lovely family memories have been made here! A stunning, stunning hotel.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the new wing, but that is totally personal preference. I enjoy them because...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Wow, thank you so much! 14 years is incredible and we so appreciate you and all of our returning guests. So glad to hear that our Inn continues to meet and exceed expectations. We look forward to seeing you next time and wish you the best. Thanks again Rose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had no reservations in Mendocino and checked a few places that were pretty high for what you got. We ended up at the Stanford Inn. We received excellent service by all staff. Our room was very comfortable with a view of the gardens and a peak of the ocean as well a fire place. Their restaurant is Vegan which we are not, since breakfast was included we ate there and is was great. We ended up eating dinner there and it was very good as well. They have a swimming pool and jacuzzi which we enjoyed as well. They provide free mountain bikes for a great ride along the river. It is really more of a resort than just a hotel with comfortable sitting areas and a fireplace with reading material etc. Afternoon tea is also free for guests. There are beautiful grounds to stroll through or just enjoy some quiet time. Great relaxing get away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hi Sofia, thanks so much for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed all, including the Ravens' Restaurant. Glad to hear it! We hope to welcome you back again in the future, and wish you a wonderful summer season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $359 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing