We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Perhaps I expected too much, but when one pays close to $300 per night it should have been better. 1) The exhaust fan in the bathroom was very noisy and there was no way to turn it off without the light also being off. 2) Bathroom had an foul odor 3) Room had no a/c so the only way to get fresh air was to open the door or window which posed a privacy/security issue. 4) remote control for the TV required an electrical engineering degree to operate. 5) ditto the coffee maker 6) Lighting in the room was poor, so it was difficult to read in the room. My wife and I had planned to stay 2 nights, we left after the first night. The hotel did offer to change our room, but we declined.

Room Tip: Understand the restaurant is strictly vegan. My wife and I like vegetarian, but this was over the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are very sad to read this. We understand that a loud bathroom fan can be unsettling and for this reason, we have just recently changed it to a much quieter version. We apologize for the inconvenience, and wish we had caught it sooner. I am not sure what odor there could have been, but our staff would have addressed it quickly and properly had we been informed at the time.

Like most homes and Inns here on the Mendocino coast, we have never needed A/C as it is typically cool year-round. However, due to the unusual heatwave we had this year, we are going to be placing cooling systems in each room. I am sorry you did not feel comfortable opening your window. We have never had any sort of security or privacy breach, and the window opens out onto your private balcony.

Again, we are so sad to read about your disappointments, as this is never how we want our guests' experience to go. We, and our staff, strive to give the very best service and experience possible and I am sorry that we did not surpass your expectations. We thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    80
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
105
258
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont,NY-Sausalito,CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a real jewel. The atmosphere here is that 'secluded by the sea' feeling but woodsy also. The in house restaurant is excellent vegan breakfast and dinner. Pets are allowed and encouraged which creates a very nice feeling. They have a very large area to relax around the wood burning fireplace which of course creates a wonderful scent of the mountains. The rooms have fire burning fireplaces and plenty of aged wood to work with. Many rooms, all with views of the sea and gardens, have outdoor porches. Excellent massage therapists and yoga classes. I have been back many times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossCountryJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you!! What a lovely review of your experience here. We look forward to seeing you again! All our best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The grounds and accomodations were very nice. Upscale rustic knotty pine, nice fireplace, spacious bath, comfy bed. lingering smoke odor from fireplace usage. My only issue (unexpected surprise) is the total vegan restaurant that did not have any apparent options for non vegan. This I blame on myself, for not reading the information closely on the website. We had breakfast included in our stay and tried it the first morning, and decided not to take advantage on the second morning. Now I know how vegans feel when they don't have options at regular restaurants. At leasy now I know that I will never consider a vegan diet .....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you, Dave, for taking the time to share your experience. Most of our guests are actually not vegan or vegetarian, but do love the food. We try to express our culinary style in an artful and tasty fashion and do hope you might give us another try. We would love to welcome you back and change your mind! All our very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

One stop on a road trip through California. The staff was sincerely friendly. The resort and grounds were beautiful. Such a relaxing 2 days. Enjoyed the jacuzzi, in room fireplace, and complimentary bike rentals. Delicious breakfast is included. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4linu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We look forward to welcoming you back next time. All our best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A most enjoyable stay at this relaxing and scenic spot. Nice room, nice amenities, courteous service and just the right place to kick back in Mendocino. Vegan restaurant is very good with an exceptional local wine list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swoodwor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We hope to see you the next time you make it up to the North coast! All our best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Stanford Inn met and exceeded all our expectations for a wonderful place to stay on the ocean in northern California. The room was great and lots of care by the innkeeper (wood fire ready to light, music playing on a CD player), the flower gardens below the rooms were nothing short of spectacularly colorful and beautiful, the Ravens Restaurant was as good a place as we’ve eaten, with delicious breakfast and dinner and afternoon tea, and the nearby sightseeing was exactly what we wanted (a bike ride up a wilderness river, paddling trips on the same river, visiting the quaint and beautiful town of Mendocino). In short this is the place to stay for a perfectly relaxing and enjoyable few days on the coast of northern California.

Green Features: This is very much a "green" lodging choice
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHSHOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We love your pictures! Thank you for sharing those. We hope to welcome you back to the North Coast in the future. All our very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A wonderful, relaxing place nestled in a niche by the river, close to Mendocino. Our room offered a peak of the ocean and had a balcony. This place was quiet and extremely well-maintained. Attention to detail was amazing. We were also able to bring our dog and she was treated to gifts upon our arrival. The adjoining restaurant, The Raven, is vegan which was a new experience, but the food was artfully presented and quite good. The gardens are beautiful and 50% of the food served in the restaurant is produced on site. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyn052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Stanford Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Glad we could help you unwind :) We look forward to welcoming you back someday! All our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Property: Stanford Inn by the Sea
Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing