We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Retreat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed with my wife at this beautiful inn in Mendocino. This was our second trip in the past 12 months and accommodations were great, food outstanding and the hospitaliy by the owners Jeff and Joan Stanford was teriffic.
Would definitely recommend this spot, ....very tranquil, scenic and relaxing.
Al Drewno

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We stayed in one of the cottages this time, where we could strech out a little m...
See more room tips
Green Features: Whatever can be converted into environmentally friendly supplies, tools at the hotel has been converted.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlD704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    81
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
107
263
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recently made a reservation online with the inn that was incorrect. I will take responsibility for that. Because of that I was charged 1 night I wasn't there. I understand their policy but there was no effort on their part to make it right. I asked if they would charge me the rate I booked - for the correct dates I needed, for the only room they had available and they refused. Not a lot of customer service from this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place is magical. After a harrowing drive through San Francisco traffic and around fallen trees along winding Sonoma roads, it felt so good to arrive here. We visited around Thanksgiving time, and the hotel was decorated beautifully. I loved the vines growing around the entrances to the rooms, having real fireplaces, and standing on the balcony in the morning overlooking the gardens (which included llamas wandering around) and the ocean in the distance. I'm not vegan or vegetarian, but I loved the breakfasts nevertheless. The waiter was more than happy to explain how they make vegan french toast, etc. without the attitude that some other vegan places tend to have. The dinning room is surrounded by windows looking out at the ocean and pine trees. A great way to start the day. They also put fresh baked vegan chocolate chip cookies in the room every day. They were wonderful, and the staff happily provided me with the recipe. I didn't use the pool, but my mom swam every day and loved it. It's a good sized pool enclosed in a greenhouse-type structure with fragrant, flowering trees dropping petals into the water. This place really felt like home instead of just a hotel. Plus, there's a plethora of things to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinBast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was an awesome getaway, a great inn in a wonderful, charming town! The rooms are really well-furnished and cozy. We had a fireplace we used every night. We wandered through the inn's vegetable and flower gardens. There is a bicycle and kayak rental place right next door and we spent one day kayaking down a beautiful, long river.

There is a fantastic vegan restaurant right on site that we loved. As a vegetarian, it is a real treat to have a menu full of veggie breakfast and dinner options. I believe even non-vegetarians would find the food fantastic.

We brought our small dog and he was more than welcome! Of course we loved this, especially since he received a treat at check-in and dinner. There is an area in the restaurant that allows dogs, so it could not have worked out better.

This is charming, rustic inn that is perfect for a country getaway, especially for vegetarians!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

There is a special energy at this beautiful property. The rooms are beautifully appointed with knotty pine walls, fire places, balconies, the most comfortable beds and more. Sitting on the balcony, looking at the trees and the ocean, listening to the birds is heavenly. Walking the grounds where there is a pool, hot tub, sauna, organic garden, kayak, canoe and bike rental is relaxing. Many classes related to health are offered and massages are available. Probably the best part of staying there is the food at The Ravens' Restaurant at which breakfast and tea are included and dinner is available. Guest that have stayed here in the past found their visit a life changing experience.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have lovely views. I think the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, Ca.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Stanford Inn is Jeff and Joan's creation of heaven for people who love the experience of being nestled in the Redwoods with their canine family members. Outstanding attention to detail has been expended by them to create unsurpassed hospitality and comfort accomplished with great respect and preservation of this lushly forested town. Their gourmet vegan breakfasts come with the price of the room, along with use of bicycles, use of the heated indoor salt water pool and
beautifully appointed rooms. The lobby is such a welcoming large space to relax with a dual sided fireplace and comfortable couches and an overall great vibe. The staff is very helpful. Our room this time had a panoramic view of the gardens, the expansive grounds and the water. This was our second stay since February and we will be returning! You don't have to be Vegan
to savor everything about this place. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Between the staff, the pool, the food, afternoon tea, frolicking with llamas, always having firewood in the room ready for a roaring fire....I would HIGHLY recommend it! Plus it's minutes from downtown Mendocino.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleole861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Property: Stanford Inn by the Sea
Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing